Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Lowe Named a Finalist for USA Softball Award
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: May 09, 2007
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

OKLAHOMA CITY --The Amateur Softball Association announced today that Arizona senior center fielder Caitlin Lowe is one of 10 finalists for the 6th Annual USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award.

For the first time in six years, the top 10 finalists actually consist of 11 players after there was a tie for the 10th position.

Lowe, who made the top 10 list for the award in 2006, was one of three finalists in 2005. 

A .452 career hitter, Lowe set the school record for stolen bases in a career with 151 steals and is in the top 15 on five NCAA career records lists including batting average, hits, runs, stolen bases and stolen base percentage.

This year the three-time, first-team NFCA All-American leads Arizona with a .438 average to go with 49 runs scored and 44 stolen bases in 49 games.

Additionally, Lowe is one of just 11 players in NCAA history to accumulate 300 hits, 200 runs and 100 stolen bases in a career.  Entering the weekend she has 333 hits, 234 runs and 151 steals.

Lowe and the Wildcats locked up Arizona’s 10th Pac-10 title in school history with a win last weekend at Oregon State.

No. 3 Arizona wraps up its regular season at home with three games against No. 14 UCLA on Thursday at 7 p.m. and against No. 11 Washington on Friday at 7 p.m. and Saturday at 1 p.m.

The 11 finalists for the 6th Annual USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award, consist of three players who were selected as top 10 finalists in 2006. There are also five seniors, three juniors, two sophomores and one freshman among the list.


Top 11 Finalists listed in alphabetical order are:

Monica Abbott (Tennessee) ?- Senior ?- Pitcher - Salinas, Calif.

Katie Burkhart (Arizona State) ?- Junior ?- Pitcher - San Luis Obispo, Calif.

Kaitlin Cochran (Arizona State) - Sophomore - Outfielder - Yorba Linda, Calif.

Norrelle Dickson (Oklahoma) ?- Senior - Third Base - Orange, Calif.

Caitlin Lever (Georgia Tech) - Senior - Outfielder - Amherst, NY

Caitlin Lowe (Arizona) ?- Senior ?- Outfielder - Tustin, Calif.

Samantha Ricketts (Oklahoma) - Sophomore - First Base - San Jose, Calif.

Jenn Salling (Oregon) ?- Freshman ?- Shortstop - Port Coquitlam, B.C.

Amanda Scarborough (Texas A&M) - Junior - Pitcher/First Base - Magnolia, Texas

Lindsay Schutzler (Tennessee) ?- Senior ?- Outfielder - Monterey, Calif.

Angela Tincher (Virginia Tech) - Junior - Pitcher - Eagle Rock, Va.


On May 29 the list will be cut to three and those final three players will travel to Oklahoma City for the announcement of the winner of the 6th Annual USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year Award during opening ceremonies of the 2007 NCAA Women's College World Series.