Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Arizona?s Wheeler Nominated for CLASS Award
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: November 29, 2004
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Arizona point guard Dee-Dee Wheeler is one of 30 senior women’s basketball players nominated for the fourth annual Bayer Advantage?® Senior CLASS Award. The award is presented annually to the nation’s senior Player of the Year for NCAA Division I men’s and women’s basketball.


A national media committee will select 10 finalists for the award next February. During the NCAA Tournament in March, nationwide fan balloting will be coupled with results from voting by coaches and media to determine the male and female winner. Legendary sportscaster Dick Enberg, who initiated the idea for the award and now serves as honorary chairman, announces the winner during the CBS telecast of the NCAA Men’s Final Four.


The Senior CLASS (an acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School) Award was launched in the 2001-02 college basketball season. It is designed to honor the attributes of seniors who remain committed to their university and elect to pursue the many rewards that a senior season can bring.


The complete list of candidates is listed below.


Player                        School
Jacqueline Batteast           Notre Dame
Nikita Bell                   North Carolina
Steffanie Blackmon            Baylor
Natasha Brackett              Auburn
Ashley Burke                  Gonzaga
Jamie Carey                   Texas
Jessalyn Deveny               Boston College
Shyra Ely                     Tennessee
Katie Feenstra                Liberty
Kristin Haynie                Michigan State 
Sandora Irvin                 Texas Christian 
Dionnah Jackson               Oklahoma
Temeka Johnson                Louisiana State
Lauri Koehn                   Kansas State
Cathrine Kraayeveld           Oregon
Sancho Lyttle                 Houston
Kristen Mann                  UC Santa Barbara
Caity Matter                  Ohio State
Janel McCarville              Minnesota
Jessica Moore                 Connecticut
Loree Moore                   Tennessee
Chelsea Newton                Rutgers
Cappie Pondexter              Rutgers
Heather Schreiber             Texas
Charlene Smith                DePaul
Kelley Suminski               Stanford
Kendra Wecker                 Kansas State
Dee-Dee Wheeler               Arizona
Tan White                     Mississippi State
Tanisha Wright                Penn State
WB Welcome Coach Barnes