Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Men?s Swim Qualify Thirteen for Day Two Finals
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: March 25, 2005
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

Minneapolis, Minn. ?- The Arizona men’s swimming and diving team completed the second day of preliminary action at the 2005 NCAA Championships Friday qualifying 12 swimmers to compete in five events at tonight’s finals, which will take place at 7 p.m. (CST) at the University Aquatic Center.


The 200-yard medley relay team of freshman Gerhard Zandberg, junior Dave Rollins, freshman Albert Subirats and freshman Jonas Persson finished third overall with a season best time of 1:26.14. In the 100-yard butterfly, junior Lyndon Ferns took fifth place overall, qualifying him for the championship finals, with a time of 46.54.


Junior Simon Burnett was the top qualifier in the 200-yard freestyle setting a pool record with a time of 1:33.75 while junior Tyler DeBerry also qualified for the championship finals by finishing 6th overall with a time of 1:34.88. Persson qualified for the consolation finals of the race as well as he finished 15th overall with a personal best time of 1:35.84.


Three more Arizona swimmers qualified for the finals of the 100-yard breaststroke as junior Dave Rollins finished second overall with a personal best time of 53.43. Freshman Ivan Barnes finished 12th overall qualifying for the consolation finals with a time of 54.16 while senior Nate Stevens placed 14th (54.31).


Freshman Nick Thoman finished sixth overall in the 100-yard backstroke, breaking the school record with a time of 46.92. Zandberg qualified for the consolation finals of the race as he finished 12th overall with a time of 47.54.





Margo Geer P12 WOTY
Bear Down Challenge M S&D