Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Wildcat Women Announce 2004 Team Awards
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: June 22, 2004
Related Links

March 14, 2004

Tucson, Ariz. (Mar. 14) - The University of Arizona women's basketball squad announced its 2003-04 team awards at it annual banquet on campus Sunday night. Eight different players were recipients of a variety of awards.

For the second consecutive year, junior guard Dee-Dee Wheeler and sophomore center Shawntinice Polk were selected by their teammates as the squad's co-Most Valuable Players after being first and second, respectively, on the team in scoring.

Wheeler was also named the team's Defensive Most Valuable Player and earned both the Free Throw Percentage Leader Award, shooting 74.5 percent (73-98) from the line, and the Assists Leader Award (4.7 apg). Polk received the Rebounding Leader Award as well, after averaging a team-best 10.6 rebounds per game.


Sophomore forward CoCoa Sanford was chosen as the Most Improved Player, while sophomore guard Natalie Jones earned the club's "Hustle" Award for the second straight year. Rookie forward Shannon Hobson was selected the team's Freshman of the Year.

Sophomore forward Anna Chappell was named the team's Most Inspirational Player and also received the Academic Achievement Award for having the highest cumulative grade-point average on the squad.

Wheeler, senior guard Aimee Grzyb and sophomore guard Katrina Lindner were presented with Team Captain Awards after serving in that capacity for the entire season.

The Wildcats are 24-8 overall after finishing as runner-up in the Pac-10 Tournament to defending champion Stanford. Arizona tied the Cardinal for the regular-season Pac-10 championship, the program's first conference title. The Cats have earned their second straight NCAA tournament bid and, as a No.9 seed, are headed for Austin, Texas, to take on No. 8 seed Michigan State in the first round on Sunday, Mar. 21.


WB Welcome Coach Barnes