Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Alex Mejia Named To Brooks Wallace Award List
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: May 03, 2012
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

May 3, 2012

Link: Complete Watch List

TUCSON, Ariz. - University of Arizona junior Alex Mejia is one of 50 players, including seven from the Pac-12 Conference, named to the Brooks Wallace Shortstop of the Year Award Watch List, announced by the College Baseball Hall of Fame on Thursday.

The Wallace Award, sponsored by Mizuno, recognizes the nation's top shortstop and will be presented on June 30 in Lubbock, Texas, as part of the College Baseball Hall of Fame's Night of Champions.

Mejia, an All-Pac-10 selection a season ago, has turned in a sensational junior campaign. The Sylmar, Calif., native is hitting .380 and has started all 42 games at shortstop for the Wildcats. Mejia's 68 base hits lead all Pac-12 players entering this weekend's action. His 40 runs scored and 38 runs batted in rank tied for sixth and seventh, respectively, among conference players.

Mejia is slugging .525 on the season, which is fourth on the team, and has been boosted by nine doubles, four triples and three home runs. The round-trippers are second-most on the team and are his first since his freshman season after he snapped a streak of 371at-bats without a home run earlier this season.

In his career, Mejia boasts a .343 batting average, 112 runs scored, 211 hits and 116 RBI. Interestingly, Mejia has been even more efficient in conference games in his career, hitting .367 (98-267) with 42 runs and 39 RBI in 72 career league contests.

Defensively, Mejia turns in stellar plays on a seemingly daily basis. He ranks second in the Pac-12 with 135 assists and has helped UA turn 37 double players, which is the third-most among the 11 conference teams.

Teammate Kurt Heyer is one of 60 pitchers on the National Pitcher of the Year Watch Lists, released last week by the College Baseball Hall of Fame. The Pitcher of the Year Award is also presented at the Hall of Fame's ceremonies in June.

Former Arizona baseball coach Frank Sancet will be formally inducted into the College Baseball Hall of Fame at this year's ceremonies. Sancet is the third member of the UA baseball program to be voted into the College Baseball Hall of Fame. Former coach Jerry Kindall was elected in 2007, and Terry Francona was inducted in June 2011.

Eleventh-ranked Arizona (29-13, 12-6 Pac-12) hosts No. 10 Oregon (32-13, 14-7 Pac-12) in a three-game series at Hi Corbett Field this weekend. The series, which pits the top two teams in the conference separated by just one-half game, begins on Friday evening at 6 p.m.

2016 College World Series