Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Fowler Named Finalist for POY
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: May 12, 2010
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

May 12, 2010

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. -- Arizona pitcher Kenzie Fowler has been named a finalist for the 2010 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year, the organization announced today.

The The Amateur Softball Association (ASA) of America announced the Top 10 Finalists and the winner will be announced on June 1 at the opening of the NCAA 2010 Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City, Okla. The award, which is considered the most prestigious honor in Division I women's collegiate softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country.

Past winners of the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year honor include UCLA's Stacey Nuveman, Florida State's Jessica Van der Linden, Texas' Cat Osterman, who is a three time winner, Tennessee's Monica Abbott, Virginia Tech's Angela Tincher and Washington's Danielle Lawrie.

The Top 10 Finalists represent 10 schools and five different NCAA Division I Conferences. The list is comprised of five seniors, one junior, one sophomore and three freshman. The final three finalists will be announced May 26 while the winner of the 2010 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award will be announced prior to the start of the World Series action at the ASA Hall of Fame Stadium.

2010 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Top 10 Finalists

Name (School) - Year - Position - Hometown

Valerie Arioto (California) - Junior - Utility - Pleasanton, Calif.

Chelsea Bramlett (Mississippi State) - Senior - Catcher/Infield - Cordova, Tenn.

Kayla Braud (Alabama) -Freshman - Infielder - Eugene, Ore.

Francesca Enea (Florida) - Senior - Outfield - Woodland Hills, Calif.

Kenzie Fowler (Arizona) - Freshman - Pitcher - Tucson, Ariz.

Megan Langenfeld (UCLA) - Senior - Pitcher/First Base - Bakersfield, Calif.

Danielle Lawrie (Washington) - Senior - Pitcher - Langley, B.C.

Blaire Luna (Texas) - Freshman - Pitcher - Austin, Texas

Jen Mineau (Fordham) - Sophomore - Pitcher - Schaghticoke, N.Y.

Jen Yee (Georgia Tech) - Senior - Second Base - North Delta, B.C.

The Top 10 finalists were selected by a panel, which includes Division I coaches and other individuals involved at the highest levels of the game, from the list of Top 25 Finalists released in April. A Top 50 Watch List was released in January, although players did not have to be included on the Watch List to become a finalist.

Four Wildcats selected to USA Futures Team

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. -- Three current Wildcats and a former Arizona star were selected to the USA Softball Women's Futures National Team Wednesday.

Kenzie Fowler, Brittany Lastrapes, Jenae Leles and Lauren Schutzler are slated to play a host of games this summer.

The Futures Team will kick off the season with exhibition games against the 2010 USA Softball Women's National Team in Canton and Ashland, Ohio, June 16-17. They will also compete against the National Teams of Canada, Japan and the USA at the 2010 World Cup of Softball, July 22-26, at the ASA Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City, Okla. To purchase tickets to see the Futures team in action, visit for the Ohio exhibitions and for the World Cup.

Members of the Futures Team will also fill spots on the USA team competing at the Canadian Open Fast Pitch International Championship, July 7-11, in Surrey, B.C. and exhibition games in Whitehorse, Yukon, July 13-14. Futures players will also be included on the rosters for the Japan Cup, August 3-9, in Sendai City, Japan. (Complete rosters for the tournaments in Canada and Japan will be announced at a later date.)

The complete roster includes:

Valerie Arioto (Pleasanton, Calif./California junior)

Katelyn Boyd (Phoenix, Ariz./Arizona State sophomore)

Raven Chavanne (Thousand Oaks, Calif./Tennessee freshman)

Kenzie Fowler (Tucson, Ariz./Arizona freshman)

Jessica Iwata (Lihu'e, Hawaii/Hawaii freshman)

Molly Johnson (Tucson, Ariz./Kentucky senior)

Megan Langenfeld (Bakersfield, Calif./UCLA senior)

Brittany Lastrapes (Laguna Niguel, Calif./Arizona junior)

Jenae Leles (Fair Oaks, Calif./Arizona 2009*)

Blaire Luna (Austin, Texas/Texas freshman)

Meagan May (Spring, Texas/Texas A&M freshman)

Stacey Nelson (Los Alamitos, Calif./Florida 2009*)

Jamia Reid (Buena Park, Calif./California sophomore)

Lauren Schutzler (Monterey, Calif./Arizona junior)

Jordan Taylor (Valencia, Calif./Michigan junior)

Angela Tincher (Eagle Rock, Va./Virginia Tech 2008*)

Niki Williams (Mission Viejo, Calif./Washington sophomore)

Shawna Wright (Lancaster, Calif./Washington freshman)

* Last year of college eligibility

Kate Drohan (Evanston, Ill./head coach Northwestern) will serve as Head Coach of the USA Futures National Team, marking her first time as a coach in the USA Softball program. Mike Larabee (Fayetteville, Ark./head coach Arkansas) and Jamie Pinkerton (Broken Arrow, Okla./asst. coach Iowa State) will serve as assistants for the Futures Team.

Arizona hosts UCLA for a three-game set beginning tomorrow at 7 p.m.

Courtesy of USA Softball