Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Brooks a Lott Trophy quarterfinalist
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: October 26, 2005
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

NEWPORT BEACH, Calif. ?- Arizona safety Darrell Brooks has been named a quarter-finalist for the 2nd annual Lott Trophy, presented by The IMPACT Foundation of The Pacific Club.  


     Brooks is a 6-1, 210-pound graduate who leads Arizona in tackles with 56, received his undergraduate degree in psychology and is taking graduate courses in public administration. He's a team captain, 3.0 student, part of the Pac-10 Leadership Council and was president of the Student Athlete Advisory Board.  He’s on the Jim Thorpe Award watch list and is a semifinalist for the Draddy Award and a National Scholar Athlete Award from the National Football Foundation and Hall of Fame. 


      Brooks joins these others as semifinalists: defensive end Darryl Tapp of Virginia Tech, safety Darnell Bing of USC, defensive

end Quentin Moses of Georgia, linebacker Spencer Havner of UCLA, linebacker DeMeco Ryans of Alabama, linebackers Chad Greenway and Abdul Hodge of Iowa, linebacker A.J. Hawk of Ohio State, linebacker Brandon Hoyte of Notre Dame, linebacker Moses Osemwegie of Vanderbilt, linebacker D’Qwell Jackson of Maryland, cornerback Antoine Huffman of Kentucky, defensive end Elvis Dumervil of Louisville, and defensive tackle Brennan Schmidt of Virginia. 


     In its second year, The Lott Trophy honors the college football Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year.  The student-athlete is judged on both his on-field performance and his off-field performance.  The Lott Trophy is the first sports award based on personal character and is appropriately named after the legendary defensive back, Ronnie Lott.  Last year's winner was David Pollack, the All-American defensive end from Georgia. 


     Semi-finalists will be announced Nov. 11.  Voting for the winner will be conducted by Ernst & Young with ballots being sent to college offensive and defensive coordinators, national media, The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation Board of Directors, a Board of Advisors made up of former NFL players and coaches along with the three finalists from last year ?- Pollack, Derrick Johnson of Texas and Jim Leonhard of Wisconsin.


     The winner will be announced on Dec. 11th at a gala black-tie Awards Banquet at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach.

#OurHouse Rocks Slider
#OurHouse Mini-Plans
Football vs BYU Tickets