Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Polk Named to Wade Trophy Watch List
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: August 17, 2005
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

ATLANTA, Ga. - For the third year in a row, University of Arizona women’s basketball player Shawntinice Polk has been selected as a preseason candidate for the State Farm Wade trophy, given to the Division I Player of the Year. Polk is one of 25 student-athletes on the prestigious list and one of 11 who were on the list last year.

A three-time All-Pac-10 selection, Polk is the league’s active leading career scorer (1,467) and rebounder (914). Hampered with a knee injury much of last season, she still managed to finish third in the conference in rebounding (8.0 rpg) and eighth in scoring (12.7 ppg).

The candidates were selected by a vote of the national awards committee, which is comprised of leading basketball coaches, journalists, and basketball administrators. Players are selected based on game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability.

"The 2005-2006 State Farm Wade Trophy preseason list is an example of the top-notch athletes that contribute to making each collegiate basketball game an exciting new experience," said Jeanne Lenti Ponsetto, Chair of the State Farm Wade Trophy Committee and Athletic Director at DePaul University. "These 25 student-athletes represent the most outstanding players on and off the court and we look forward to another outstanding year of women’s basketball."

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 28th year, is named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade. The award debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women’s national player of the year award in college basketball.

This most prestigious award, regarded as "The Heisman of women’s basketball," is organized by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA), in conjunction with the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS).

The 2006 State Farm Wade Trophy winner will be announced during the WBCA National Convention held in conjunction with the NCAA Women’s Final Four in Boston, Mass., March 31-April 4, 2006.

The preseason candidates for The State Farm Wade Trophy, listed in alphabetical order, are:

Name                    Yr.   Pos.   Institution 
Seimone Augustus        Sr.   G      Louisiana State 
Nikki Blue              Sr.   G      UCLA 
Monique Currie          Sr.   G/F    Duke 
Jessica Davenport       Jr.   C      Ohio State 
Shay Doron              Jr.   G      Maryland 
Megan Duffy             Sr.   G      Notre Dame 
Candice Dupree          Sr.   F/C    Temple 
Sylvia Fowles           So.   C      Louisiana State 
Erin Grant              Sr.   G      Texas Tech 
Tasha Humphrey          So.   F      Georgia 
Tiffany Jackson         Jr.   F      Texas 
Tamara James            Sr.   G/F    Miami 
Crystal Langhorne       So.   C/F    Maryland 
Erlana Larkins          So.   F      North Carolina 
Ivory Latta             Jr.   G      North Carolina 
Shawntinice Polk        Sr.   C      Arizona 
Cappie Pondexter        Sr.   G      Rutgers 
Liz Shimek              Sr.   F      Michigan State 
Khara Smith             Sr.   F      DePaul 
Kim Smith               Sr.   F      Utah 
Tiffany Stansbury       Sr.   F      North Carolina State 
Ann Strother            Sr.   G/F    Connecticut 
Candice Wiggins         So.   G      Stanford
Sophia Young            Sr.   F      Baylor 
Shanna Zolman           Sr.   G      Tennessee 
WB Welcome Coach Barnes