Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Wheeler Named Collegiate Basketball Award Semifinalist
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: March 07, 2005
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

ALBUQUERQUE, NM ?- Arizona point guard Dee-Dee Wheeler is among 10 women’s basketball players named as semifinalists for the third annual Collegiate Basketball Award of Excellence presented by Creamland Dairies, the Albuquerque Convention and Visitors Bureau (ACVB) announced. The award, which honors college seniors for their athletic and academic achievement, as well as their community involvement, will be presented April 12.


"Creamland Dairy is very pleased to be a proud title sponsor for the past three years of this great event and honor those students who have excelled in their academics and in their community," said Howard Miller, Creamland Dairies General Manager. "These athletes are the next generation of leaders in our communities."


"We are pleased to have the opportunity to recognize these outstanding student-athletes for their contributions to their local communities and universities," said Dan Ballou, sports marketing director at ACVB. "We also appreciate Creamland Dairies for their continued support of this national event."


Three finalists for the award will be named during the NCAA Tournament and will be presented in Albuquerque on April 12 at an awards dinner held at the Albuquerque Marriott. Jimmy Dykes, ESPN College Basketball Analyst will emcee the event, and Citadel Communications Sports Radio 610 The Sports Animal and News Radio 770 KKOB are official media sponsors.


The complete list of semifinalists follows.


Katie Billue, Alabama-Birmingham

Becky Heidotten, Tulsa

Sandora Irvin, TCU

Nicole Lehman, Southwest Missouri State

Mandi Moore, New Mexico

Tiffany Mor, Wisconsin-Green Bay

Beth Swink, St. Francis (Pa.)

Kendra Wecker, Kansas State

Dee-Dee Wheeler, Arizona

Tan White, Mississippi State

WB Welcome Coach Barnes