Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Trevor Crowe Named Pac-10 Co-Player of the Year
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: June 01, 2005
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

                WALNUT CREEK, Calif. ?- Arizona junior outfielder Trevor Crowe has been named the co-Pac-10 Player of the Year, the conference office announced on Tuesday. In being so honored, Crowe becomes the first UA player since Scott Erickson and Alan Zinter split the Pac-10 South POY honors in 1989. Crowe shares the 2005 award with Oregon State’s Jacoby Ellsbury.


                In addition to Crowe earning the top honor by the conference, four Arizona teammates were named to the All-Pac-10 team on Tuesday as well. First baseman Jordan Brown, catcher Nick Hundley, relief pitcher Mark Melancon and outfielder Jeff Van Houten were named to the all-conference team. The 2005 recognition is the second in Van Houten’s four-year career and the first for the other three Wildcats.


                Crowe, a finalist for the Golden Spikes Award and a semi-finalist for the Brooks Wallace Award, enters Arizona’s postseason trip to the Fullerton Regional with a .421 batting average, 81 runs scored, 104 total hits, 25 doubles, a school and Pac-10 record 14 triples, nine home runs, 54 RBI and 26 stolen bases. He led the Pac-10 in no less than eight statistical categories during the regular season and has played a large part in Arizona’s season-long top 10 national ranking.


                Brown, the Pac-10 leader in RBI this season, needs just eight more runs driven in to become the fifth player in school history to record 80 or more RBI in a single season. He enters the postseason with a .340 average, 59 runs scored, 84 hits, 17 doubles, 13 home runs and 77 RBI.


                Hundley, a semi-finalist for the 2005 Johnny Bench Award, has thrived as UA’s fulltime catcher. Starting 55 of Arizona’s 56 regular season games behind the plate, Hundley is batting .349 with 74 hits, 54 runs scored, 22 doubles, a team-best 14 home runs and 43 RBI this season.


                Melancon, who finished the regular season third in the conference with a 2.32 ERA, enters regional play with 4-3 record and a team-best nine saves this season. Appearing in a team-high 31 games this season, Melancon has worked three or more innings in 14 contests in 2005. Despite the heavy workload for a closer, he has limited the opposition to a .196 batting average while striking out a career-best 66 hitters.


                Van Houten, who was named to the all-conference team in 2003 after leading the Pac-10 with a .413 batting average, is batting .356 for the year, second on the team to Crowe’s .421. The senior outfielder has posted 58 runs, 84 hits, 17 doubles, eight home runs and 63 RBI in 55 games this season. Just the third player in school history to record 200 or more RBI in a career, he is second on UA’s all-time list with 209 runs driven in.


                Juniors Brad Boyer, Chris Frey, Kevin Guyette and John Meloan, sophomore Jason Donald and freshmen Eric Berger and Bryan Kervin were all named honorable mention All-Pac-10 as well.


Trevor Crowe, ARIZONA and Jacoby Ellsbury, OREGON STATE


Ian Kennedy, USC


Darwin Barney, OREGON STATE




Name, School, Pos, Yr, Ht, Wt, Hometown

Brennan Boesch, CAL, OF, So., 6-6, 210, Los Angeles, Calif.
Jordan Brown, ARIZ, 1B, Jr., 6-0, 210, Vacaville, Calif.
Travis Buck (2), ASU, OF, Jr., 6-2, 205, Richland, Wash.
Dallas Buck, OSU, RHP, So., 6-2, 190, Newberg, Ore.
Jeff Clement (3), USC, C, Jr., 6-1, 210, Marshalltown, Iowa
Brady Everett, WSU, C, Sr., 5-11, 206, Des Moines, Wash.
Jeff Gilmore, STAN, RHP, Jr., 6-2, 200, Huntington Beach, Calif.
Kevin Gunderson, OSU, RP, So., 5-10, 160, Portland, Ore.
Nick Hundley, ARIZ, C, Jr., 6-1, 205, Seattle, Wash.
Andy Jenkins, OSU, 1B, Sr., 6-0, 200, Salem, Ore.
Jeff Larish (2), ASU, 1B, Sr., 6-2, 210, Tempe, Ariz.
Brent Lillibridge (3), WASH, INF, Jr., 5-11, 185, Everett, Wash.
Tim Lincecum (2), WASH, LHP, So., 6-0, 160, Renton, Wash.
Jed Lowrie (2), STAN, INF, Jr., 6-0, 185, Salem, Ore.
John Mayberry Jr. (2), STAN, 1B, Jr., 6-5, 230, Kansas City, Mo.
Mark Melancon, ARIZ, RP, So., 6-2, 210, Golden, Colo.
Jonah Nickerson, OSU, RHP, So., 6-1, 190, Oregon City, Ore.
Josh Satin, CAL, INF, Fr., 6-2, 185, Calabasas, Calif.
Travis Talbott, CAL, RP, Sr., 5-11, 175, Santa Cruz, Calif.
Jeff Van Houten (2), ARIZ, OF, Sr., 5-10, 190, Paradise Valley, Ariz.

(2) - Two-time All-Conference selection.
(3) - Three-time All-Conference selection.

Honorable Mention
: Erik Averill, Jr., ASU; Eric Berger, Fr., ARIZ; Brad Boyer, Jr., ARIZ; Pat Bresnehan, So., ASU; Zach Clem, Jr., WASH; Josh Conover, Sr., WASH; Allen Craig, Jr., CAL; Colin Curtis, So., ASU; Matt Cusick, Fr., USC; Seth Dhaenens, So., ASU; Jason Donald, So., ARIZ; David Dowling, Sr., WASH; Eric Dworkis, Sr., CAL; Hector Estrella, So., USC; Nate Fogle, RP), OSU; Chris Frey, Jr., ARIZ; Ryan Gipson, INF), OSU; Tuffy Gosewisch, Sr., ASU; Tyler Graham, Jr., OSU; Kevin Guyette, Jr., ARIZ; Matt Hague, Fr., WASH; Cyle Hankerd, So., USC; Billy Hart, Jr., USC; John Hester, Jr., STAN; Chris Jensen, Jr., UCLA; Taylor Johnson, Sr., WASH; Bryan Kervin, Fr., ARIZ; Anton Maxwell, SP), OSU; Shea McFeeley, INF), OSU; Brandon McKerney, Fr., WASH; John Meloan, Jr., ARIZ; Jay Miller, Jr., WSU; Jeff Miller, So., WSU; Dane Renkert, Sr., WSU; Mark Romanczuk, Jr., STAN; Andrew Romine, Fr., ASU; J.J. Sferra, Fr., ASU; Blake Sharpe, Jr., USC; Adam Sorgi, So., STAN; Jack Spradlin, Jr., USC; Matt Swanson, Sr., CAL; Jason Urquidez, Sr., ASU.


2017 Arizona Baseball Season Tickets
2016 College World Series