Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Leles, Lastrapes, Chambers Earn All-Pac-10
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: May 13, 2009
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

May 13, 2009

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.--University of Arizona sophomore catcher Stacie Chambers, sophomore outfielder Brittany Lastrapes and senior third baseman Jenae Leles received first-team honors on the 2009 All-Pacific-10 Conference Softball Team.

Junior shortstop K'Lee Arredondo and senior first baseman Sam Banister earned second-team nods, while designated player Lini Koria and second baseman Kristen Arriola were named to the Pac-10 All-Freshman team.

Receiving honorable mention all-conference were junior pitcher Sarah Akamine, Koria and sophomore outfielder Lauren Schutzler, while outfielder Karissa Buchanan earned all-freshman honorable mention honors.

Lastrapes and Leles were repeat first-team picks, while Arredondo repeated as a second-team selection. It's the first all-league citation Chambers and Banister.

Arizona has had at least three first-team selections every year since 2001, with a high of six picks off its three teams from 1993-1995.

Kaitlin Cochrane of ASU was named Athlete of the Year, Danielle Lawrie of Washington won Pitcher of the Year honors, Ashley Hansen of Stanford was named Freshman of the Year, Rosey Neill of Stanford was named Defensive Player of the Year and UCLA's Kelly Inouye-Perez earned the Pac-10 Coach of the Year honor.

The individual honors calendar continues with voting for All-Pacific-Region and All-America honors in the coming weeks, but Arizona has turned its focus to team goals possible with the program's 23rd consecutive inclusion in the NCAA Softball Championships.

The Wildcats depart Tucson Wednesday for their first-round game at 4 p.m. (1 p.m. MST) Friday in Louisville against Tennessee-Martin. The winner of that game plays a Saturday morning contest against the winner of the host Louisville vs. Purdue game later Friday, with the two losers to match up in Game 4 of the Regional.

2009 All-Pacific-10 Conference Softball Team


First Team Selections
Valerie Arioto, sophomore p/1B, California
Stacie Chambers, sophomore C, Arizona
Ashley Charters, senior 2B, Washington
Kaitlin Cochran, senior OF, Arizona State   -   Athlete of the Year
Alissa Haber, junior OF, Stanford
Ashley Hansen, freshman SS, Stanford   -   Freshman of the Year
Amanda Kamekona, junior 2B, UCLA
Megan Langenfeld, junior P/1B, UCLA
Brittany Lastrapes, sophomore OF, Arizona
Danielle Lawrie, junior P, Washington   -   Pitcher of the Year
Jenae Leles, senior 3B, Arizona
Missy Penna, senior P, Stanford
Katie Schroeder, sophomore OF, UCLA
Kaila Shull, junior C, UCLA

Coach of the Year - Kelly Inouye-Perez, UCLA Defensive Player of the Year - Rosey Neill, Stanford