Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Whyte Selected to 2013 All-Pac-12 Team
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: March 05, 2013
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

March 5, 2013

TUCSON, Ariz. -

Arizona women’s basketball senior Davellyn Whyte (Phoenix, Ariz.) was selected to the All-Pac-12 Team, voted by the coaches in the conference, Commissioner Larry Scott announced on Tuesday.

Whyte has earned the award in every season she has played at Arizona, including earning the Pac-10 Freshman of the Year honor in 2010.

“It is a huge honor to be named to the All-Pac-12 team again this year,” Whyte said. “I have truly enjoyed playing in such a prestigious conference such as the Pac-12 and Arizona has provided me with great opportunities.”

In her senior season, Whyte has emerged as one of the best players in Arizona women’s basketball history. She is the second all-time leading scorer and the second player in history to score 2,000 points or more.

She is also ranks second on the all-time steals list with 266, 38 shy of Dee-Dee Wheeler’s 304 from 2002-05.

She has started and played in every game in her career, more than any other player history, tallying 4,206 minutes played, also the most in history.

Whyte was also selected to the media’s All-Pac-12 team on Monday, an honor she received three out of four years.

For complete results and continued coverage of Arizona women’s basketball, visit or follow @ArizonaWBBall on Twitter.


ALL-PAC-12 (15 members)

Name                           School             Pos.     Yr.        Hometown

Brittany Boyd                California          G          So.       Berkeley, Calif.

Gennifer Brandon          California          F          Jr.        Sylmar, Calif.

Alyssia Brewer              UCLA                F          Sr.        Tulsa, Okla.

Layshia Clarendon**      California          G          Sr.        San Bernardino, Calif.

Jazmine Davis*             Washington       G          So.       San Jose, Calif.

Cassie Harberts             USC                 F          Jr.        San Clemente, Calif.

Chucky Jeffery**           Colorado          G          Jr.        Colorado Springs, Colo.

Kristi Kingma**              Washington       G/F       Sr.        Mill Creek, Wash.

Atonye Nyingifa                        UCLA                F          Jr.        Torrance, Calif.

Chiney Ogwumike***      Stanford           F          Jr.        Cypress, Texas

Amber Orrange              Stanford           G          So.       Houston, Texas

Michelle Plouffe                        Utah                 F          Jr.        Edmonton, Alberta

Joslyn Tinkle                 Stanford           F          Sr.        Missoula, Mont.

Markel Walker**             UCLA                G/F       Sr.        Philadelphia, Pa.

Davellyn Whyte****       Arizona            G          Sr.        Phoenix, Ariz.

**two-time All-Pac-12 honoree; 

***three-time All-Pac-12 honoree

HONORABLE MENTION (receiving at least one point): Jillian Alleyne, ORE (Fr., F); Ariya Crook, USC (G, So.); Janae Fulcher, ASU (F, RS-Sr.); Lia Galdeira, WSU (G, Fr.); Tia Presley, WSU (G, So.); Jen Reese, COLO (So., F); Arielle Roberson, COLO (F, RS-Fr.); Iwalani Rodrigues, UTAH (G, RS-Sr.); Talia Walton, WASH (F, RS-Fr.); Jamie Weisner, OSU (G, Fr.); Taryn Wicijowski, UTAH (F, RS-Jr.).

                                   ALL-FRESHMAN TEAM

Name                           School             Pos.     Hometown

Jillian Alleyne                Oregon             F          Fontana, Calif.

Lia Galdeira                   Wash State       G          Kamuela, Hawai’i

Arielle Roberson            Colorado          F          San Antonio, Texas

Talia Walton                  Washington       F          Federal Way, Wash.

Jamie Weisner               Oregon State    G          Clarkson, Wash.

HONORABLE MENTION (receiving at least one point): Brianna Barrett, USC; Nirra Fields, UCLA; Kari Korver, UCLA; Haley Videckis, ASU. 


Name                           School             Pos.     Yr.        Hometown

Chiney Ogwumike***      Stanford           F          Jr.        Cypress, Texas

Eliza Pierre**                 California          G          Sr.        Pasadena, Calif.

Markel Walker                UCLA                G/F       Sr.        Philadelphia, Pa.

Aminah Williams            Washington       F          So.       Seattle, Wash.

Brittany Wilson              Colorado          G          Jr.        Long Beach, Calif.

** two-time All-Defensive team honoree

*** three-time All-Defensive team honoree

HONORABLE MENTION (receiving at least one point): Promise Amukamara, ASU (G, So.); Brianna Barrett, USC (G, Fr.); Layshia Clarendon, CAL (G, Sr.); Lia Galdeira, WSU (G, Fr.); Rachel Hargis, COLO (C, Jr.); Chucky Jeffery, COLO (G, Sr.); Michelle Plouffe, UTAH (F, Jr.); Arielle Roberson, COLO (F, RS-Fr.); Davellyn Whyte, ARIZ (G, Sr.).

WB Welcome Coach Barnes