Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Three Women Golfers Selected As Pac-10 All-Academic
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: June 22, 2004
Related Links

May 28, 2004

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - The Arizona Women's Golf team had a student-athlete selected in all three categories when Pac-10 commissioner Tom Hansen announced today the 2004 Pac-10 All-Academic teams for women's golf.

Sophomore Lani Elston was selected to the first team. The native of Spokane, Wash., carries a grade point average of 3.91 in music. Elston was an important part of the Wildcat's season, averaging a 76.71 stroke average for all 11 events.

Named to the second team, sophomore Whitney Welch carries a 3.86 grade point average in political science. Welch, a native of Las Vegas, Nev., contributed to Arizona's successful fall season. Her highest finish came at the Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational where she finished seventh.

UA sophomore Erica Blasberg earned honorable mention academic honors. This caps off a successful sophomore campaign for the native of Corona, Calif., who earned All-American honors for the second straight year after averaging a 72.29 stroke average. Blasberg posted eight top-10 finished, including four individual medalist honors.

To be eligible for selection to the Pac-10 All-Academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade point average and be either a starter or significant contributor.

2004 Pac-10 Women's Golf All-Academic

First Team
Lani Elston, Ariz.
Maria Kostina, WSU
Wendra Liang, Stanford
Susie Matthews, UCLA
Erin Tone, Arizona St.
Therese Wenslow, Oregon

Second Team Bridget Dwyer, UCLA Jay-Lee Longbottom, Washington Alex Lucio, Oregon St. Paige Mackenzie, Washington Gina Umeck, UCLA Whitney Welch, Arizona

Honorable Mention Erica Blasberg, Arizona, Beatriz Conti, Arizona St. Katie Cunningham, Oregon Clair Dury, California Kelly Husted, Stanford Sara Jones, Arizona St. Alissa Kuczka, Arizona St. Sarah Huarte, California Stephanie Lue, Stanford Lindsay Morgan, Washington Stephanie Parsley, Washington St. Danella Perata, Arizona St. Anna Rawson, Southern California Angela Rho, Stanford Jamie Seefried, Oregon Michelle Timpani, Oregon Kim Welch, Washington St.