Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Brooks an 'Academic Heisman' semifinalist
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: October 04, 2005
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

MORRISTOWN, N.J. ?-UA free safety Darrell Brooks is 63 players named as semi-finalists for the 2005 Draddy Trophy and a National Scholar-Athlete Award.


Both are awarded to college football players for combined excellence in academics, athletic performance and community service. The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) today announced the group here.


Known in many circles as the “Academic” Heisman, the Draddy Trophy continues to be one of college  football’s most sought after and competitive awards, recognizing an individual as the absolute best in the country for his combined academic success, football performance and exemplary community leadership.


Brooks, who graduated in December and is taking post-graduate courses at UA, has been one of the Wildcats’ best student-athletes throughout his career and participates in a variety of departmental and off-campus service organizations. He was a team captain a year ago and has been a game captain for each game this season. He is one of six Pac-10 players in the group of finalists.


Semi-finalists must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.  Established to honor former NFF Chairman Vincent dePaul Draddy, a Manhattan College quarterback who founded the Izod and Lacoste brands, the award comes with a stunning 24-inch, 25-pound bronze trophy and a $25,000 post-graduate scholarship.


The NFF Awards Committee, comprised of former coaches, Hall of Famers and college administrators, will select and announce 15 finalists on Oct. 27. The winner, also selected by the committee, will be announced at the 48th NFF Awards Dinner on December 6 at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City. Each finalist will also be recognized that night as part of the 2005 National Scholar-Athlete Class, receiving an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship.


Division I-A NFF Awards Semifinalists


Anderson, David; Colorado State

Avant, Jason; Michigan

Basanez, Brett; Northwestern

Bassler, Blade; Houston

Bazaldua, Nick; North Texas

Betts, Josh; Miami (Ohio)

Bienemann, Troy; Washington State

Bracken, Richard; Arkansas

Brooks, Darrell; Arizona

Castillo, David; Florida State

Clary, Jeromy; Kansas State

Culver, Lanell; Fresno State

Dawson, Trinity; Toledo

Day, Timothy; Oregon

Degory, Mike; Florida

Dewan, Brendan; Duke

Eslinger, Greg; Minnesota

Foltz, Ryan; California

Fredrick, Nate; Utah State

Gostkowski, Stephen; Memphis

Green, John; U.S. Naval Academy

Gross, John; Temple

Haas, Robert; Western Michigan

Hoyte, Brandon; Notre Dame

Huffman, Atonino; Kentucky

Hughes, Connor; Virginia

Jennings, Kelly; Miami (FL)

Johnson, Darcy; Central Florida

Johnson, Luke; Southern Mississippi

Justice, Doug; North Carolina

Kane, Kevin; Kansas

King, Jeffrey; Virginia Tech

Kirkwood, Gregory; U.S. Air Force Academy

Lorello, Mike; West Virginia

Love, Grayling; Arizona State

Lumpkin, William; Indiana

Miller, Matthew; Ohio

Mills, Michael; Tulsa

Mullins, James; Marshall

Neill, Ryan; Rutgers

Niswanger, Rudy; Louisiana State

Obomanu, Benjamin; Auburn

Pace, Andrew; Vanderbilt

Person, Francis; South Carolina

Reis, Christopher; Georgia Tech

Robinson, Michael; Pennsylvania State

Ryans, DeMeco; Alabama

Sanders, Aaron; Buffalo

Scandrett, Devarick; Middle Tennessee St.

Schnittker, Brandon; Ohio State

Sessler, Jon; Kent State

Shimmelman, Kevin; Stanford

Shockley, D.J.; Georgia

Smith, Bradley; Missouri

Swiger, Jason; Akron

Thaler, Mike; Bowling Green State

Thomas, John; Texas

Toone, Spencer; Utah

Torp, John; Colorado

Traina, Matthew; Tulane

Turner, Matthew; Purdue

Wenger, Edward; Florida International

White, Spencer; Brigham Young



#OurHouse Rocks Slider
#OurHouse Mini-Plans
Football vs BYU Tickets