Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Brooks, Cason Tabbed for Thorpe Award 'Watch List'
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: June 29, 2005
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

Oklahoma City -- University of Arizona free safety Darrell Brooks and cornerback Antoine Cason are among the pre-season candidates for the 2005 Jim Thorpe Award, announced in a “watch list” released by the Jim Thorpe Association.

Brooks, who graduated in December, enters his fifth year in the UA program. He was a team captain last year and returns as one of the Cats' team and defensive leaders. Cason, who started throughout his true freshman year, earned freshman All-America honors from the Football Writers Association of America. Brooks was named earlier this summer to the watch list for the Ronnie Lott Trophy, also awarded to a top defensive back.


Both are expected to help anchor a secondary that most analysts feel will be one of the Wildcats' strong points in 2005, along with returning starters in senior strong safety Lamon Means and sophomore cornerback Wilrey Fontenot, among others. Defensive coordinator Mark Stoops coaches Arizona's defensive backs.


They were among five Pac-10 players named to the list including USC's Darnell Bing, California's Donnie McClesky and UCLA's  Jarrad Page, all safeties. Arizona, Alabama, Texas, Miami, Florida State, West Virginia and Ohio State each have two players on the watch list, comprised of 36 players in all.


UA head coach Mike Stoops, then the secondary coach and defensive coordinator at Oklahoma, coached 2001 winner Roy Williams and 2003 awardee Derrick Strait. Arizona cornerback Darryll Lewis won the Jim Thorpe Award in 1990 under secondary coach Duane Akina, who as co-defensive coordinator and DBs coach at Texas  has cornerbacks Cedric Griffin and Michael Huff among this year's group of  candidates. Last year's winner was Carlos Rogers of Auburn.


  Antoine Cason


The Thorpe Award, presented annually to the nation’s best college defensive back, is one of college football’s most prestigious awards.  It is named after one of history’s greatest all-around athletes, a man who excelled as a running back, passer and kicker on offense, and also was an awesome defensive back.  Recognized in the Pro Football Hall of Fame simply as “The Legend”, Thorpe also played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon.


The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists the first Monday in November and then to three finalists the Monday before Thanksgiving.  The winner will be announced on ESPN’s College Football Awards Show, telecast from Disney World on December 8.  The official presentation of the award will be in Oklahoma City on February 7.


The watch list is derived through a point system based on All-American teams and Honorable Mentions published in at least six pre-season football magazines.  A candidate must be listed as as a third-team All-American in at least one publication or as a fourth team or honorable mention in at least three of these publications. Players not on the list who have exceptional seasons may be added at a later date.





Muhammad Abdullah, Sr

Kentucky safety

Jahmile Addae, Sr

West Virginia safety

Jason Allen, Sr

Tennessee safety

Jaxson Appel, Sr

Texas A&M safety

Darnell Bing, Jr

USC safety

Will Blackmon, Sr

Boston College cornerback

Greg Blue, Sr

Georgia safety

Darrell Brooks, Sr

Arizona safety

Daniel Bullocks, Sr

Nebraska safety

Antoine Cason, So

Arizona cornerback

Antonio Cromartie, Jr

Florida State cornerback

John Eubanks, Sr

Southern Miss cornerback

Gabriel Fulbright, Sr

New Mexico cornerback

Charles Gordon, Jr

Kansas cornerback

Cedric Griffin, Sr

Texas cornerback

Roman Harper, Sr

Alabama  safety

Michael Huff, Sr

Texas cornerback

Darrell Hunter, Sr

Miami (Ohio) cornerback

Kelly Jennings,Sr

Miami (Fla) cornerback

LaRon Landry, Jr

LSU safety

Maurice Lane, Sr

Baylor safety

Mike Lorello, Sr

West Virginia safety

Donnie McClesky, Sr

California safety

Jarrad Page, Sr

UCLA  safety

Charlie Peprah, Sr

Alabama safety

Bernard Pollard, Jr

Purdue safety

Nate Salley, Sr

Ohio State safety

Ko Simpson, So

So. Carolina safety

Anthony Smith, Sr

Syracuse safety

Wesley Smith, Sr

Memphis safety

Greg Threat, Sr

Miami (Fla) safety

Pat Watkins, Sr

Florida State safety

Eric Weddle, Jr

Utah safety

Ashton Youboty,Jr

Ohio State cornerback

Jimmy Williams, Sr

Virginia Tech cornerback

Alan Zemaitis, Sr

Penn St.  cornerback







#OurHouse Rocks Slider
#OurHouse Mini-Plans
Football vs BYU Tickets