Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Three Wildcats On Player of Year Watch List
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: January 28, 2005
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

OKLAHOMA CITY--Arizona juniors Alicia Hollowell and Autumn Champion and sophomore Caitlin Lowe have been named to the preseason Watch List for the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award.

All three were on the list a year ago during UA's 55-6 Pac-10 championship season. Champion was the national batting leader with a .489 average, Lowe was in the top 10 with a .437 mark and 47 stolen bases and Hollowell was among national leaders with a 41-4 pitching record and a school-record 508 strikeouts. Each was a first-team All-America selection along with departed DP Wendy Allen. Hollowell was Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year and Lowe earned Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year honors.

The Amateur Softball Association, the National Governing Body of Softball in the United States, announced the initial watch list for the 4th annual award, one of two national honors along with the Honda Softball Award, which has been won by former UA players Susie Parra (1994), Jenny Dalton (1996), Nancy Evans (1998) and Jennie FInch (2001 and 2002).


Past winners of the USA award include UCLA’s Stacey Nuveman, Texas pitcher Cat Osterman and Florida State’s Jessica Van der Linden.

The watch list is comprised of 40 players that represent 23 colleges and 10 different conferences. A list of 25 finalists will be announced on April 5. A player does not have to be on the watch list to be considered for the top 25. But once the Top 25 is named the remaining finalist must be pared down from that list. A list of 10 finalists will be picked May 10th.
The winner of the 2005 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award will be announced at the 2005 NCAA Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City.  

2005 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Watch List:

(listed in alphabetical order)

Monica Abbott ?- Tennessee (Salinas, CA) - Sophomore
Kelly Anderson ?- California (Woodland, CA) - Junior
Caitlin Benyi ?- UCLA (Scottsdale, AZ) - Junior

Gina Carbonatto ?- Pacific (Lake Stevens, WA) - Sophomore
Kasi Carroll ?- Georgia (Norris City, IL) - Sophomore

Meredith Cervenka ?- Long Beach State (La Crescenta, CA) - Senior
Autumn Champion ?- Arizona (Tustin, CA) - Junior
Megan Ciolli ?- Notre Dame (Terre Haute, IN) - Senior

Christina Clark ?- Fresno State (Santa Ana, CA) - Junior
Ashley Courtney ?- Alabama (Vero Beach, FL) - Senior

Sara Dean ?- Auburn (Valencia, CA) - Senior
Norrelle Dickson ?- Oklahoma (Orange, CA) - Sophomore

Andrea Duran ?- UCLA (Selma, CA) - Junior
Vicky Galindo ?- California (Union City, CA) - Junior

Amy Harre ?- Southern Illinois at Carbondale (Nashville, IL) Senior
Camille Harris?- LSU (Hendersonville, TN) - Junior

Alicia Hollowell ?- Arizona (Suisun, CA) Junior

Casey Hunter ?- Florida State (Millstadt, IL) - Senior
Vanessa Iapala ?- Oregon State (San Diego, CA) - Junior

Kami Keiter ?- Oklahoma (Arvada, CO) Senior

Oli Keohohou ?- Long Beach State (Newbury, CA) Senior
Leslie Klein ?- LSU (Sunrise, FL) - Sophomore
Lauren Lappin ?- Stanford (Anaheim, CA) - Junior

Dominique Lastrapes ?- Washington (Mission Viejo, CA) - Sophomore

Jodie Legaspi ?- UCLA (Garden Grove, CA) Sophomore
Caitlin Lowe ?- Arizona (Tustin, CA) Sophomore
Jessica Merchant ?- Michigan (Wayland, MI) - Senior

Brooke Mitchell ?- Louisiana Lafayette (Pasadena, TX) - Senior

Nicole Motycka ?- Michigan (Sarasota, FL) - Senior
Ani Nyhus ?- Oregon (White Rock, B.C., Canada) - Senior

Cat Osterman ?- Texas (Houston, TX) Junior

Jackie Rinehart ?- Stanford (Reno, NV) - Sophomore
Kristen Rivera ?- Washington (Perris, CA) - Senior
Jessica Sallinger ?- Georgia Tech (Kennesaw, GA) - Senior

Heather Scaglione ?- Oklahoma (San Diego, CA) - Senior
Jamie Southern ?- Fresno State (Clovis, CA) Senior

Kristina Thorson ?- California (Lake Forest Park, WA) Sophomore
Stephanie Van Brakle ?- Alabama (Chambersburg, PA) Junior
Kim Wendland ?- Georgia (Rock Island, IL) Senior

Veronica Wootson ?- Florida State (Fontana, CA)