Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
UA Baseball Selected To Host NCAA Regional
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: May 27, 2012
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

May 27, 2012

Tucson Regional Ticket Information (Link)

TUCSON, Ariz. - The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee on Sunday announced that Hi Corbett Field will host the Tucson Regional as one of 16 regional sites for the 66th annual Division I Baseball Championship. The announcement marks the first time the University of Arizona baseball program has hosted an NCAA Baseball Regional since 1992.

Sunday's announcement also makes official the school's third-straight postseason appearance and the eighth in the last 10 seasons under head coach Andy Lopez. The 2012 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship 64-team field, with first-round regional pairings and site assignments, will be revealed in a live, one-hour telecast on ESPNU at 9 a.m. (MST), Monday, May 28.

Arizona baseball season ticket holders have an exclusive window to purchase reserved tickets to the regional games. Season ticket holders have until 3 p.m. on Tuesday, May 29, to purchase all-session tickets.

All-session general admission tickets will go on sale to the public on Sunday, May 27, online at 1 p.m. General admission public sales will be available over the phone and in-person at the McKale Ticket Office beginning Tuesday, May 29th at 9 a.m.

If any reserved seats remain after the season ticket holder window they would be open for sale on Tuesday, May 29, at 6 p.m. Single-session tickets will go on sale later in the week. Exact on-sale time and date is to be announced. The McKale Ticket Office will be closed on Monday, May 28th for Memorial Day.

Arizona (37-17, 19-10 Pac-12) opened the final day of the regular season at noon on Sunday in a three-way tie for first place atop the Pac-12 standings. The Wildcats are tied with Oregon (42-16, 19-10 Pac-12) and UCLA (41-14, 19-10 Pac-12). A win against rival Arizona State (36-19, 18-11) would capture at least a share of the school's first conference championship since 1992.

That 1992 season marks a handful of notable achievements for both the Arizona program and Lopez. Not only was 1992 the last year Arizona won at least a share of the conference championship and hosted an NCAA, but it was the year in which Lopez coached Pepperdine University to a national championship. The Waves began their postseason run by winning the Tucson Regional that season.

Arizona is no stranger to hosting postseason competition, even if it has been a couple decades. The program has hosted regional or district playoffs 13 times, leading to eight of the school's 15 College World Series appearances. The Wildcats' 1980 national championship run began with a three-game sweep of the NCAA West Regional in Tucson.

Hi Corbett Field, which hosted some playoff games before Wildcat Field installed lights on campus in the mid-1970s, became the permanent home of Arizona baseball in January of this year. The Wildcats have drawn 83,205 (2,447 per game) fans to 34 home games to date, including 11,128 at the first two games of this weekend's series.

The other three teams and schedule of games for the Tucson Regional will be officially announced on Monday. Check for complete information. 

2012 NCAA Baseball Regional Host Sites
City (Host school)
Baton Rouge, La. (LSU)
Chapel Hill, N.C. (North Carolina)
Charlottesville, Va. (Virginia)
College Station, Texas (Texas A&M)
Columbia, S.C. (South Carolina)
Coral Gables, Mia. (Miami)
Eugene, Ore. (Oregon)
Gainesville, Fla. (Florida)
Gary, Ind. (Purdue)
Houston, Texas (Rice)
Los Angeles, Calif. (UCLA)
Palo Alto, Calif. (Stanford)
Raleigh, N.C. (North Carolina State)
Tallahassee, Fla. (Florida State)
Tucson, Ariz. (Arizona)
Waco, Texas (Baylor)

Arizona Baseball NCAA Postseason Hosting History
Year, Tournament (UA Record, CWS Appearance if advanced)
1992, Tucson Regional (0-2)
1989, NCAA West I Regional (3-2)
1980, NCAA West Regional (3-0, CWS)
1979, NCAA Midwest Regional (3-0, CWS)
1970, NCAA District 7 Championship (2-1, CWS)
1966, NCAA District 7 Championship (2-0, CWS)
1963, NCAA District 7 Championship (0-2)
1962, NCAA District 6 Championship (3-0, CWS)
1960, NCAA District 6 Championship (2-1, CWS)
1958, NCAA District 6 Championship (2-1, CWS)
1956, NCAA Distirct 6 Championship (2-0, CWS)
1953, NCAA District 6 Championship (1-2)
1951, NCAA District 6 Championship (1-2)

2017 Arizona Baseball Season Tickets
2016 College World Series