Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Mason, Frye Win Pac-10 Medals
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: June 24, 2005
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.--Swimmer Emily Mason and basketball center Channing Frye were named UA recipients of the 2004-05 Pacific-10 Conference Medals as announced today by league commissioner Tom Hansen.


Mason, a multiple All-American in her senior year for UA, was individual medalist in the NCAA 500-yard freestyle earlier this spring. Frye, a second-team All-American and winner of the Pac-10 Sportsmanship Award, has positioned himself to be a potential high first-round selection in the NBA draft next week. Each completed stellar four-year careers at UA this year.


A Conference Medal is awarded annually to each member institution’s outstanding senior male and female student-athlete based on the exhibition of the greatest combination of performance and achievement in scholarship, athletics and leadership.

The Conference Medal winners will be honored at the State Farm Pride of the Pac-10 Luncheon held in Los Angeles in conjunction with the Pac-10 Men's Basketball Tournament next March. Following are the 2004-05 awardees:

2004-05 Pacific-10 Conference Medal Winners





Channing Frye, Basketball

Emily Mason, Swimming

Arizona State

Andrew Walter, Football

Kylan Loney, Basketball


Graham Ackerman,

Gymnastics Kelly Anderson, Softball


Sven Swinnen, Tennis

Cathrine Kraayeveld, Basketball

Oregon State

Bill Swancutt, Football

Mari Embertson, Swimming


Tony Azevedo, Water Polo

Ogonna Nnamani, Volleyball


Joseph Axelrad, Water Polo

Natalie Golda, Water Polo


Ray Vincent, Swimming

Emily Adams, Volleyball


C.J. Klaas, Soccer

Tina Frimpong, Soccer

Washington State

Calvin Armstrong, Football

Kim Welch, Golf




Margo Geer P12 WOTY