Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Arizona?s Matalonga and O?Grady Earn Pac-10 Honors
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: May 06, 2005
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. ?- Arizona senior Colin O’Grady and junior Roger Matalonga received postseason honors when the Pac-10 announced its all-conference teams Friday.

Matalonga was named to the All-Pac-10 Second Team, while O’Grady earned an honorable mention. Both O’Grady and Matalonga will compete in the NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championships May 25-30 at the George P. Mitchell Tennis Center in College Station, Texas.

No. 20 Matalonga and O’Grady have compiled an 18-10 record this 2004-05 season.  The pair of Wildcat seniors played in the No. 1 position in all but one of the team’s dual matches, as they were off playing in the National Collegiate Tennis Championships.


No. 56 Matalonga enters the singles tournament with 60 wins in his three years at Arizona. Over the past ten Pac-10 matches, Matalonga has faced some of the nations best facing all but two ranked opponents earning a 5-5 record over this span. Matalonga’s best win of the season came at the NCTC, where he defeated the nations top ranked player, Caitalin Guard, in straight sets, 6-4, 6-4.

Complete all-conference teams and honors are listed below.


Men's First Team
Benjamin Kohlloeffel, UCLA
Conor Niland, CAL
Luben Pampoulov, UCLA
Sven Swinnen, ORE
Alex Vlaski, WASH
Sam Warburg, STAN

Men's Second Team
Jamil Al-Agba, USC
KC Corkery, STAN
Drew Hoskins, USC
Roger Matalonga, ARIZ
Christoph Palmanshofer, WASH
Alex Slovic, WASH

Honorable Mention
Christopher Biro, ASU
Patrick Briaud, CAL
Kris Kwinta, UCLA
Clint Letcher, ASU
Lennart Maack, CAL
Colin O'Grady, ARIZ
James Wan, STAN

Men's  Player of the Year
Sam Warburg, STAN

Men's Doubles Team of the Year
KC Corkery/Sam Warburg, STAN

Men's Newcomer of the Year
Benjamin Kohlloeffel, UCLA

Men's Coach of the Year
Matt Anger, WASH


Bear Down Challenge M Ten