Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
M Golf Opens Season at William H. Tucker Intercollegiate
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: September 29, 2011
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

Sept. 29, 2011

TUCSON, Ariz. - The University of Arizona men's golf team opens the 2011-12 season, Sept. 30-Oct. 1, at the William H. Tucker Intercollegiate in Albuquerque, N.M.

The Wildcats are part of a 16-team field that includes Air Force, Arizona State, BYU, Colorado, Louisiana-Monroe, New Mexico State, North Texas, Northern Colorado, UNLV, San Diego State, UTEP, UT-San Antonio, Utah, Wyoming and host New Mexico.

Arizona's lineup includes Juan Pablo Hernandez, Chris Capo, Erik Oja, Brenden Redfern and Tucker Wadkins. Additionally, UA will have three players competing as individuals: Trent Redfern, Kenji Hernandez and Philip Bagdade.

Arizona's five-man lineup includes four underclassmen - sophomores Oja and Capo and freshmen B. Redfern and Wadkins - and three players (Capo, B. Redfern, Wadkins) who are making their Wildcat debuts. It is the first of four fall events for the Wildcats.

The 54-hole William H. Tucker Intercollegiate features 36 holes on Friday and 18 on Saturday with 7 a.m. MDT shotgun starts each day. The event will be contested at the UNM Championship Course, a par-72, 7,248-yard layout.

Arizona has competed in the William H. Tucker Intercollegiate in 32 of 33 seasons dating back to 1978, and has opened the season with this event in eight of 11 seasons dating back to 2000, winning the event in 1987, 1990, 1991 and 2005. Additionally, Arizona won the 1992 NCAA Championship on this same course.

Live tournament scoring is available at

Bear Down Challenge M Golf