Official Secondary Ticket Marketplace
Channing Frye Named to Collegiate Basketball Award of Excellence Watch List
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: February 18, 2005
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

Phoenix native one of 25 seniors in contention for honors


TUCSON, Ariz. ?- The University of Arizona’s Channing Frye was named to the Collegiate Basketball Award of Excellence watch list, it was announced by the Albuquerque Convention and Visitors Bureau.


Frye was included on the list of 25 male student-athletes named to the watch list for the Collegiate Basketball Award of Excellence presented by Creamland Dairies.  The award honors college seniors for their athletic and academic achievement as well as their community involvement.


Frye, a 6-foot-11, 248-pound center from Phoenix, Ariz., is averaging 14.9 points, 7.4 rebounds and 2.1 blocked shots per game this season.  He’s connected on 50.3 percent (147-of-292) of his field goal attempts and 83.6 percent (92-of-110) of his free throws.  Through 26 games, Frye has five double-doubles to his credit and has scored in double figures in 17 consecutive games.


The list will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists on March 1, 2005, and three finalists will be announced during the NCAA Tournament.  Now in its third year, the winner of the award will be announced on April 12 at the awards dinner in Albuquerque, N.M.


Tenth-ranked Arizona (22-4, 12-2 Pac-10) will next be in action on Sunday, Feb. 20, against Oregon State.  Tip-off is scheduled for 2:30 p.m. MST and can be seen nationally on Fox Sports Net.


Male Athletes

Lance Allred, Weber State University

Daniel Ewing, Duke University

Andrew Ford, Purdue University

Craig Forth, Syracuse University

Channing Frye, University of Arizona

Luke Spencer-Gardner, Oral Roberts University

Ryan Gomes, Providence College

Joey Graham, Oklahoma State University

Stephen Graham, Oklahoma State University

Danny Granger, University of New Mexico

Chuck Hayes, University of Kentucky

Pooh Jeter, University of Portland

Shema Neza Mbyirukira, Birmingham-Southern College

Tyler McKinney, Creighton University

Aaron Miles, University of Kansas

Sean Munson, Wagner College

Spencer Nelson, Utah State University

Roger Powell, University of Illinois

Shane Power, Mississippi State

Matt Preston, Columbia University

Ronald Ross JR. Texas Tech University

Mike Slattery, University of Delaware

Chris Thomas, University of Notre Dame

Dijon Thompson, University of California, Los Angeles

John Turek, University of Nebraska
#OurHouse Rocks Slider
McDonals Red Blue Game Tickets Slider
Uploaded Ad
Football vs BYU Tickets