Official Secondary Ticket Marketplace
Williams, Miller Earn Pac-10 Honors
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: March 07, 2011
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

March 7, 2011

Pac-10 Honors in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

TUCSON, Ariz. ¬- Derrick Williams and Sean Miller were named Pacific-10 Conference Player and Coach of the Year, respectively, as the league announced its postseason honors Monday

A 6-foot-8, 241-pound sophomore forward from La Mirada, Calif., Williams leads Arizona with per-game averages of 18.8 points and 8.2 rebounds, to go with a .612 (177-of-289) field goal percentage through 31 appearances (all starts). He has scored in double figures 30 times, posted 10 double-doubles and has the two highest single-game rebounding totals in the Pac-10 this season (19 at Washington State on Jan. 22 and 18 at California on Feb. 5).

Williams leads the conference in field goal percentage, has connected on 60.4 percent (29-of-48) of his three-point field goal attempts and ranks in the top 10 in four other statistical categories within the conference: scoring (2nd), rebounding (5th), offensive rebounds (2.8 orpg/5th) and defensive rebounds (5.4 drpg/5th).

He is the sixth Arizona player to earn Pac-10 Player-of-the-Year honors, joining Sean Elliott (1988, 1989), Chris Mills (1993), Damon Stoudamire (1995), Mike Bibby (1998) and Jason Terry (1999). Furthermore, he is the fourth sophomore to win Player-of-the-Year kudos. Williams, who was the 2010 Pac-10 Freshman of the Year, is one of just 11 players to win both Player-of-the-Year and Freshman-of-the-Year honors in a career, and just the third to do it in successive seasons.

Williams' inclusion on the all-Pacific-10 Conference first team marks the 56th time an Arizona player has earned all-conference honors since the school joined the league in 1978-79.

Miller guided Arizona to its 12th Pac-10 championship this season with a 14-4 league record in this his second season heading the program. Along the way, the Wildcats posted an eight-game win streak and have been nationally ranked in both polls for the last six weeks consecutively.

Miller is the second Arizona coach to earn Pac-10 Coach-of-the-Year honors, joining Lute Olson, who won the award seven times (1986, '88, '89, '93, '94, '98, 2003). It is also the second time in his career that Miller has earned conference Coach of-the-Year honors, as he was recognized by the Atlantic 10 Conference in 2008.

Additionally, Lamont Jones (all-conference), Kyle Fogg (all-defensive team) and Jordin Mayes (all-freshman team) received honorable mention recognition.

Arizona (25-6, 14-4 Pac-10) will next be in action on Thursday, March 10, at the 2011 Pacific Life Pac-10 Men's Basketball Tournament. The top-seeded Wildcats face No. 8 seed Stanford or No. 9 seed Oregon State at 2:40 p.m. PST. The game will be televised nationally by FSN.

#OurHouse Rocks Slider
Uploaded Ad
McDonals Red Blue Game Tickets Slider
Football vs BYU Tickets