Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Pac-10 Swimming Awards Announced
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: April 10, 2007
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. ?- Arizona’s Lacey Nymeyer and head coach Frank Busch were named the Pacific-10 Conference 2006-07 women's Swimmer and Coach of the Year, while freshman Jean Basson was honored as the men’s Newcomer of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.


            Nymeyer, a junior from Tucson, Ariz., was the NCAA champion in the 200 free, which was the first individual national title of her collegiate career, shattering the school record with a time of 1:43.49. She also swam the second leg of the first-place 200 free relay that defended its national title for the third straight year, while setting a new American and NCAA record with a time of 1:27.23.


            Nymeyer anchored the second-place 400 medley relay that broke the school record with a time of 3:30.89 and went on to finish second in the 100 free to break the school record she set during the morning prelims with a time of 47.34. During dual-meet competition, Nymeyer tallied a total of 16 individual first-place finishes.


            Busch was honored as the women’s swimming Coach of the Year for the seventh time during his 18-year tenure at Arizona. Busch coached the Wildcats to a second-place finish at the 2007 NCAA Championships for the first time since 2000, as Arizona finished the meet with 477 points, the most ever accumulated at the meet in school history, while winning two individual and two relay events.


            In February, Busch coached his Arizona team to the school's third Pac-10 championship in school history. The Cats climbed seven spots from the first day of competition to win the meet with 1481.5 points and two individual victories.


            Basson, a freshman from Johannesburg, South Africa, had three individual first team All-American performances at this year’s NCAA Championships, as he placed third in the 500 free, fourth in the 200 free, and fifth in the 1650 free. In addition to his individual performances, Basson swam the second leg of the 800 free relay that took first place with an NCAA record time of 6:14.14.


            The Swimmer, Newcomer and Coach of the Year honors are determined by a coaches vote.

Margo Geer P12 WOTY