Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
UA's Polk Named to Wooden Award Watch List
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: August 13, 2004
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links
 TUCSON, Ariz. - University of Arizona women’s basketball player Shawntinice Polk has been named to the 2004-05 John R. Wooden Award Preseason All-American Team, composed of 30 student-athletes who, based on last year’s individual performance and team records, are the early front-runners for college basketball’s most coveted trophy.

"The committee had an incredibly difficult task in narrowing down the nation’s top 30 women’s players," said Mike Solum, Director of the Wooden Award. "This list represents the elite of college basketball, and our entire team at the Wooden Award is excited to see the best players in the nation prove their case as basketball’s player of the year."

A 6-5 junior, Polk is a two-time Kodak honorable mention All-American, a two-time first team All-Pac-10 selection and a seven-time Pac-10 Player of the Week. She is Arizona’s career leader with 37 double-doubles, is first on the UA career list in rebounding average (10.5 rpg), third in scoring average (17.0 ppg), fourth in rebounds (674), seventh in minutes-played average (29.5 mpg), sixth in total field goals made (448), eighth in free throws attempted (340) and 10th in total points (1087). She was also the fastest UA player and first Wildcat sophomore to break the 1,000-point mark in career scoring.

Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation’s best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his/her university that he/she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a cumulative 2.0 GPA. Previous winners include such notables as Michael Jordan (’84), Larry Bird (’79), Tim Duncan (’97) and last year’s inaugural women’s recipient, Alana Beard (’04).

In mid-January, the Wooden Award Committee will release the Midseason Top 20 List, followed in March by the official voting ballot, consisting of the top 10-15 players who have proven to their universities that they are also making progress toward graduation and maintaining a cumulative 2.0 GPA. The 2005 Award ceremony, which will include the presentation of the Men’s and Women’s Wooden Award, the Wooden Award All-American Teams and the Legends of Coaching Award, will be held at The Los Angeles Athletic Club on April 9, 2005 and will be broadcast live on a national CBS telecast.

Wooden Women’s Award Preseason All-American Team - Top 30 Candidates 

(Players listed alphabetically)

Player                 Ht.   Yr.   Pos.   School
Seimone Augustus       6-1   Jr.        LSU
Jacqueline Batteast    6-2   Sr.        Notre Dame
Steffanie Blackmon     6-2   Sr.        Baylor
Nikki Blue             5-8   Jr.        UCLA
Jamie Carey            5-6   Sr.        Texas
Monique Currie         6-0   Jr.   G      Duke
Shyra Ely              6-2   Sr.   F      Tennessee
Emily Faurholt         5-11  Jr.   F      Idaho State
Katie Feenstra         6-8   Sr.   C      Liberty
Katie Gearlds          6-1   So.   G      Purdue
Sandora Irvin          6-3   Sr.   F      TCU
Dionnah Jackson        5-9   Sr.   G      Oklahoma
Tiffany Jackson        6-3   So.   F      Texas
Temeka Johnson         5-3   Sr.   G      LSU
Camille Little         6-1   So.   G/F    North Carolina
Kristen Mann           6-2   Sr.   F      UC Santa Barbara
Janel McCarville       6-2   Sr.   F      Minnesota
Loree Moore            5-9   Sr.   G      Tennessee
Shawntinice Polk       6-5   Jr.        Arizona
Cappie Pondexter       5-9   Sr.   G      Rutgers
Noelle Quinn           6-0   So.   G      UCLA
Heather Schreiber      6-2   Sr.   F/G    Texas
Khara Smith            6-2   Jr.   F      DePaul
Kim Smith              6-1   Jr.   F      Utah
Ann Strother           6-2   Jr.   G      Connecticut
Kelley Suminski        5-9   Sr.   G      Stanford
Barbara Turner         6-0   Jr.   G/F    Connecticut
Kendra Wecker          5-11  Sr.   F      Kansas State
Tan White              5-8   Sr.   G      Mississippi State
Tanisha Wright         5-11  Sr.   G      Penn State
WB Welcome Coach Barnes