Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Women's Hoops Celebrates 2010-11 Season
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: April 14, 2011
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

April 14, 2011

Photo Gallery

TUCSON - University of Arizona Wildcat women's basketball celebrated the 2010-11 season with their annual banquet on Wednesday. Derrick Palmer, the voice of Wildcat women's basketball, served as master of ceremonies as head coach Niya Butts handed out the awards.

Senior forward Ify Ibekwe, the 2011 Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year and All-Pac-10 selection, was honored as the Most Valuable Player for the third-straight season and for her WNBA Second Round Draft Pick. Freshman Candice Warthen was honored with the Defense Award.

Senior forward Soana Lucet earned the Get Money Award, given to the player who shows heart, toughness and competitiveness. Junior guard Tasha Dickey was honored with the Polkey's Pride Award. Named after the late Shawntinice Polk, a three-time honorable mention All-American and a first-team All-Pac-10 honoree, the award is given to the player who personifies the qualities that Polk did during her three-year playing career: putting team before self, having a great heart, being able to overcome obstacles to achieve success on and off the court, and being an inspiration and great leader.

Sophomore Davellyn Whyte, a 2011 All-Pac-10 selection, was presented the Fastest to Four Award, given to players who join the 1,000-point club during their sophomore season. Currently, Whyte and former Wildcat Polk are the only two players to achieve this feat in Arizona school history.

The Golden "A" Award was presented to senior center Amanda Pierson. This award expresses a player who is a strong contributor to the success of the team, a good student and makes a significant contribution to team spirit and leadership. A ball presentation was made to senior manager Cory McClelland for his four seasons of service to Arizona women's basketball.

WB Welcome Coach Barnes