Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
DeSaverio Named to First Team All-Conference
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: November 10, 2006
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Oregon senior forward Nicole Garbin was named Pac-10 Player of the Year, UCLA

forward Lauren Cheney was named Freshman of the Year and Oregon’s Tara Erickson was named Pac-10 Coach

of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.



Garbin, a sixth-year senior from Wailuku, Hawaii, made the most of her final go-around with the Ducks, leading

them to second place in the Pac-10 with a 6-1-2 Conference record. The Ducks had never finished higher than

seventh in the Conference until this season, and Garbin deserves much of the credit. She tallied nine game-winning

goals on the season (first in the Pac-10) out of Oregon’s school-record 12 wins overall, and ranked at or

near the top of nearly every offensive category: second in points (25) second in points per game (1.25), second in

goals (12) and first in shots (84). In the regular season’s final weekend, Garbin scored the game-winning goals

in Oregon’s upset win over Pac-10 Champion UCLA, and against NCAA Tournament team USC for the school’s

first ever sweep of the Los Angeles schools. She leaves the Oregon program having set a new standard for excellence

and owns a myriad of records including career goals (34), game-winning goals (22), career points (83) and

shots (257). Garbin was named Pac-10 Player of the Week a Conference record three times this season, and is the

ony player in Conference history to win the weekly award on four different occasions. She is the first Oregon

player to ever be named Player of the Year.



Cheney burst onto the scene after missing the season’s first four games while playing for the US U-20 National

Team. Despite playing only 16 games this season, Cheney led the Conference in scoring with 15 goals and 30

points. She finished the regular season ranked fourth in the nation in goals per game with 0.94. Cheney’s shots

per game average of 4.81 also led the Pac-10 and her seven game-winning goals was second-most. The highpowered

Bruins led the Pac-10 in every offensive category, scoring 1.95 goals per match on their way to their

fourth-straight Pac-10 title. Cheney becomes the first Bruin to win the award since Jessica Winton in 1999.



The Ducks had few believers at the start of the season, as they were picked to finish last in the preseason coaches

poll. Yet they proved to be the great success story of the year, going 12-6-2 and 6-1-2 in the Pac-10 for a secondplace

finish. Oregon’s overall and Conference win totals were both school records, and its runner-up showing

was by far the best in program history, as no Oregon team had previously finished any higher than seventh. The

Ducks handed Pac-10 Champion UCLA its only blemish with a 2-1 overtime win in the season’s final weekend.

Erickson also righted the ship after Oregon lost its first three matches and instead of succumbing to outsider

expectations, the Ducks rallied to go 12-3-2 over the rest of the season. This is the first Coach of the Year award

for Erickson in just her second season at Oregon, and the first Coach of the Year award in Oregon history.



Name Pos. Year School

Danesha Adams* F/MF Jr. UCLA

Kim Bingham GK Sr. Arizona State

Rachel Buehler D Sr. Stanford

Lauren Cheney F Fr. UCLA

Gianna DeSaverio F So. Arizona

Christina DiMartino F/MF So. UCLA

Nicole Garbin F Sr. Oregon

Kelley O’Hara F Fr. Stanford

Shari Summers MF Sr. Stanford

Rosa Anna Tantillo** MF Sr. USC

Jodie Taylor** F Jr. Oregon State



Name Pos. Year School

Nadia Al-Lami MF Sr. California

Dani Bridges MF Jr. Washington

Carly Dobratz MF Fr. Washington State

Allison Falk D So. Stanford

Valerie Henderson GK Jr. UCLA

Meagan Holmes D So. USC

Courtney Hooker D Jr. California

London King F So. Arizona

Caroline Lea MF Jr. California

Allison Scurich D Jr. Washington State

Kristin Stannard MF Fr. Stanford

Stacey Strong MF So. USC

*two-time All-Pac-10 honoree **three-time All-Pac-10 honoree



Marissa Abegg (STAN, So., D/MF); Brynn Bemis (WSU, Jr., GK); Claire Bodiya (ARIZ, Jr., D);

Lauren Brown (USC, Jr., F); Bristyn Davis (UCLA, Sr., D/F); Erin Hardy (UCLA, So., D); Nkechi

Kanu; Stacey Lindstrom (UCLA, Sr., MF); Nini Loucks (USC, So., F); Jenna Robison (WASH,

So., MF); Danielle Sweeney (ORE, Fr., MF); Dylann Tharp (ORE, Jr., D).



Name Pos. School

Jacqueline Broussard MF Arizona

Lauren Cheney F UCLA

Carly Dobratz MF Washington State

Alicia Jenkins F Stanford

Kristine Larson MF UCLA

Kelly Menachof MF California

Nikki Murray D Washington

Kelley O’Hara F Stanford

Ali Riley F Stanford

Kristin Stannard MF Stanford

Danielle Sweeney MF Oregon

2016 Soccer Season Tickets
Bear Down Challenge Soccer