Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Pac-10 Swimming Awards Announced
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: April 17, 2006
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. ?- The 2005-06 conference swimming and diving awards were announced Wed., April 12, naming senior Simon Burnett as the Pac-10 Men’s Swimmer of the year, junior Whitney Myers as the Women’s Swimmer of the Year and head coach Frank Busch was honored as the Women’s Swimming coach of the Year.


            Burnett, from Tetsworth, U.K., won the 200-yard freestyle in 1:33.26 at the Pac-10 Championships, which established a new Pac-10 meet record. His victory marked one of the first individual Pac-10 championships Arizona has won since 2002. He also was a member of Arizona's first-place 800-freestyle relay team, which set a new Pac-10 meet record and a new school record with a time of 6:18.70.


            At the NCAA Championships, Burnett defended his 200-freestyle crown, while breaking his own NCAA and school records, and setting new U.S. Open and pool records with a time of 1:31.20. Burnett, who now is a three-time national champion in the individual event, also contributed to Wildcat victories in three relay events to help Arizona post the highest finish at nationals in school history. Burnett and his teammates set a new NCAA, U.S. Open, school and pool record in the 200-yard medley relay, finishing in 1:23.88. Arizona also earned the 800-yard freestyle relay national championship with a new school and pool record time of 1:16.67. The 400-yard freestyle relay team won Arizona's fourth relay title with a new pool and school record time of 2:48.39


            Myers, from Oxford, Ohio, won the 400-yard individual medley at the 2006 Pac-10 Championships, touching in 4:14.18. At the NCAA Championships, Myers won both the 200 and 400 IM events, and was a member of Arizona's 400-yard freestyle relay team that finished in 3:12.77, setting U.S. Open, NCAA, pool and school records at the meet. The junior also contributed to Arizona's win in the 400-yard medley relay that finished in 3:31.70. Myers was a finalist for the 2005-06 Swimming and Diving Honda Sports Award to determine the top woman collegiate athlete in the sport.


            Busch received the women's swimming Coach of the Year award for the sixth time in his career after leading the Wildcats to a third place finish at the NCAA Championships for the third straight year. Arizona finished the meet with 415 points, the most ever accumulated at the meet in school history, while winning two individual and three relay events. Busch coached his Arizona team to the school's second Pac-10 championship in school history.


            The Swimmer, Newcomer and Coach of the Year honors are determined by a coaches vote.


Margo Geer P12 WOTY