Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Guerra Becomes Third Wildcat to Qualify for NCAAs
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: March 10, 2012
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

March 10, 2012


Senior diver Andres Guerra (Sugarland, Texas) became third Wildcat to qualify for the NCAA Championships after earning runner-up honors on the platform board on the final day of the NCAA Diving Zone E Championships.

Guerra earned the last spot in a group of only seven male divers in Zone E to qualify for the meet.

“Andres was very steady and had the best list of dives of his career today,” former diving coach Michele Mitchell said. “It was a very impressive and gutsy performance. For the last four years, he has wanted to qualify and score points for his team and for him to do it in his senior year is very special.”

Guerra joined teammates Ben Grado (Conifer, Colo.) and Samantha Pickens (Murrysville, Pa.), who qualified in their respective events on Thursday and

Despite his previous qualification, Grado posted his best day of the meet after winning the platform on Saturday with a score of 890.00.

“Today was an amazing day because we had the two best scores in the platform by far,” Arizona diving coach Omar Ojeda said. “I am so proud of Ben and Andres, because now they have a good chance to score points at NCAAs.”

Pickens will be the first to compete as the women’s swimming and diving team will travel to Auburn, Ala. for the NCAA Championships, March 15-17,

Grado and Guerra will compete at the Men’s NCAA Championships in Federal Way, Wash. beginning March 22 and continuing through March 24.

For complete results and continued coverage of Arizona Diving, visit

Qualifiers for the NCAA Championships:

1.       Benjamin Grado / Arizona

2.       Kirstian Ipsen / Stanford

3.       Brandon Watson / BYU

4.       Constantin Blaha / ASU

5.       Cameron Bradshaw / ASU

6.       Andre Guerra / Arizona

7.       Douglas Cohen / Hawaii


1.       Elina Eggers / ASU

2.       Samantha Pickens / Arizona

3.       Victoria Ishimatsu / USC

4.       Kristen Meier / SDSU

5.       Anna Steiner / SDSU

6.       Gabby Erickson / UNM

7.       Kahley Rowell / Cal

8.       Stephanie Phipps / Stanford

Margo Geer P12 WOTY