Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Slew of Cats Invited to National Team Tryout
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: August 23, 2006
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

OKLAHOMA CITY ?- Arizona is well-represented with nine players, past and present, invited to USA Softball’s upcoming Women’s National Team and Junior National Team selection camps to be hosted in Chula Vista, Calif.


Current UA student-athletes invited to tryout for the Women’s National Team include senior All-Americans Caitlin Lowe and Kristie Fox, along with junior catcher Callista Balko.  Lowe has started for the National Team each of the past two years, while Fox and Balko spent the past summer competing for the World University Team, comprised of the nation’s best collegiate players.


The trio of current Wildcats will be joined by 25 others, including three former UA greats; gold medalists Jennie Finch and Lovie Jung, along with two-year National Team veteran Alicia Hollowell, who recently completed her fourth All-American season at Arizona.


Perhaps most impressive is that three of the 34 athletes invited to Junior Women’s National Team selection camp will be freshmen for UA’s 2007 squad.  Third baseman/utility player Sarah Akamine, shortstop/outfielder K’Lee Arredondo and catcher/third baseman Stacie Chambers will compete for a shot at making the Junior National Team at a tryout, Sept. 15-18.  Once selected, the junior squad will compete in November at the Pan Am Qualifier, which will be used as a qualifier for the ISF Junior Women’s World Championships in 2007.


The National Training Team, which will hold its tryout Sept. 18-22, will represent the USA at the 2006 Japan Cup in November.


Arizona head coach Mike Candrea will lead the selection camp and will be assisted by John Rittman (Stanford), Karen Johns (Virginia), Barbara Jordan (Cal State Northridge), Suzy Brazney (head coach at Golden West College), former Wildcat player and assistant coach Stacy Iveson (Pima College) and Teresa Wilson (Texas Tech University).


Candrea will again lead the selection camp and will be assisted by Jay Miller (Mississippi State), Cheri Kempf (Owner of Club K), Jordan, Mark Lumley (assistant coach at Baylor) and Brian Kolze (head coach at Pacific).


The 28 participants invited to the Women’s National Team selection camp scheduled for September 18-22 in Chula Vista, Calif., are *Monica Abbott (Salinas, Calif., Tennessee); *Callista Balko (Tucson, Ariz., Arizona), Laura Berg (Santa Fe Springs, Calif., Fresno State); Tina Boutelle (Katy, Texas, Texas), Crystl Bustos (Canyon Country, Calif., West Palm Beach C.C.); Christina Clark (Santa Ana, Calif., Fresno State); Andrea Duran (Selma, Calif., UCLA); Lisa Fernandez (Long Beach, Calif., UCLA); Jennie Finch (La Mirada, Calif., Arizona); Tairia Flowers (Tucson, Ariz., UCLA); *Kristie Fox (San Diego, Calif., Arizona); Amanda Freed (Cypress, Calif., UCLA); Vicky Galindo (Union City, Calif., California-Berkeley); Alicia Hollowell (Suisun, Calif., Arizona); Lovie Jung (Fountain Valley, Calif., Arizona); Kelly Kretschman (Indian Harbour Beach, Fla., Alabama); Lauren Lappin (Anaheim, Calif., Stanford); *Caitlin Lowe (Tustin, Calif., Arizona); Jessica Mendoza (Camarillo, Calif., Stanford); Jessica Merchant (Wayland, Mich., Michigan); Stacey Nuveman (La Verne, Calif., UCLA); Cat Osterman (Houston, Texas, Texas); Jennie Ritter (Dexter, Mich., Michigan); *Lindsay Schutzler (Monterey, Calif., Tennessee); Jamie Southern (Clovis, Calif., Fresno State); Jenny Topping (Whittier, Calif., Cal State Fullerton); Natasha Watley (Irvine, Calif., UCLA) and Kristen Zaleski (Temple, Texas, Texas State University).  (*Players with college eligibility)


A total of 34 athletes have been invited to compete in the Junior Women’s National Team selection camp scheduled for September 15-18 in Chula Vista, Calif. The invitees for the Junior Women’s National Team selection camp are: Sarah Akamine (Escondido, Calif.); K'Lee Arredondo (Tempe, Ariz.); Whitney Baker (Battle Ground, Wash.); Gabriele Bridges (Lafitte, La.); Ashley Brignac (River Ridge, La.); Stephanie Brombacher (Pembroke Pines, Fla.); Neena Bryant (Placentia, Calif.); Stacie Chambers (Glendale, Ariz.); Gionna DiSalvatore (Palm Harbor, Fla.); Krista Donnenwirth (Mission Viejo, Calif.); Megan Elliott (Prince Fredrick, MD); Brittany Ensminger (Mesa, Ariz.); Kenzie Fowler (Tucson, Ariz.); Desiree Giordano (W. Caldwell, N.J.); Mary  Haber (Newark, Calif.); Ashley Hansen (Chandler, Ariz.); Monica Harrison (Garden Grove, Calif.); Cathleen W. Hosfield (Murfreesboro, Tenn.); Tiffany Huff (Saugus, Calif.); Victoria Kemp (Saugus, Calif.); Donna Kerr (San Diego, Calif.); Megan Langenfield (Bakersfield, Calif.); Danielle Lastrapes (Laguna Niguel, Calif.); Bianca Marissa Mejia (Sylmar, Calif.); Rosemary Neill (Laguna Hills, Calif.); Kimi Pohlman (Sammamish, Wash.); Roya St. Clair (Livonia, Mich.); Lauren Schutzler (Monterey, Calif.); Katie Schroeder (Yorba Linda, Calif.); Dorian Shaw (Burke, Va.); Lindsey Sisk (Murrieta, Calif.); Maggie Viefhaus (Pacific, Miss.) and Megan Wiggins (Snellville, Ga.).