Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Junior Free Safety Darrell Brooks Named Second Team All-Pac-10
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: November 30, 2004
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

             TUCSON, Ariz. ?- After capping off his junior season with a victory over Arizona State last Friday, free safety Darrell Brooks got some more good news as the three-year starter was named to the second team All-Pac-10 squad.


            Brooks finished the season as Arizona’s leading tackler with 73 total stops, including 4.5 for losses. He tallied 48 solo tackles for the year, including a season-high nine against the Sun Devils, while assisting on 25 others. He also paced the UA defensive effort with a team-high nine passes defended and recorded one interception, a fumble forced and his first career sack against Washington State.


            "It's always great to receive any honor, considering the guys we play against in the Pac-10," Brooks said. "It's always a group honor, too, one that reflects on your teammates. We'll all be working to make first-team honors next year," he said.


            Arizona seniors Steve Fleming (TE) and Keoki Fraser (C), junior Mike Bell (RB), sophomore Syndric Steptoe (WR) and freshman Antoine Cason (CB) all were feted with honorable mention All-Pac-10 recognition by the conference.


            USC’s Matt Leinart and Reggie Bush shared the Offensive Player of the Year honors, while Oregon State’s Bill Swancutt and USC’s Shawn Cody split the Pat Tillman Defensive Player of the Year award. ASU’s Zach Miller was tabbed as the Freshman of the Year and Cal’s Jeff Tedford was named the Pac-10 Coach of the Year.



First Team Offense                                                           Second Team Offense

QB Aaron Rodgers, Jr., California                                       QB Andrew Walter, Grad., Arizona State
QB Matt Leinart, Jr., USC                                                  QB Derek Anderson, Sr., Oregon State
RB J.J. Arrington, Sr., California                                          RB LenDale White, So., USC
RB Reggie Bush, So., USC                                                 RB Maurice Drew, So., UCLA
WR Mike Hass, Jr., Oregon State                                       WR Derek Hagen, Jr., Arizona State
WR Geoff McArthur, Sr., California                                    WR Jason Hill, So., Washington State
TE Alex Smith, Sr., Stanford                                               TE Tim Day, Jr., Oregon
                                                                                          TE Marcedes Lewis, Jr., UCLA
C Marvin Philip, Jr., California                                              C Mike McCloskey, Jr., UCLA
OL Calvin Armstrong, Sr., Washington State                      OL Sam Lightbody, Sr., Washington State
OL Ryan O'Callaghan, Jr., California                                  OL Steven Vieira, Sr., UCLA
OL Grayling Love, Jr., Arizona State                                  OL Sam Baker, Fr., USC
OL Doug Nienhuis, Sr., Oregon State                                OL Andrew Carnahan, Sr., Arizona State
OL Adam Snyder, Sr., Oregon

First Team Defense                                                          Second Team Defense
DL Bill Swancutt, Sr., Oregon State                                  DL Haloti Ngata, So., Oregon
DL Mike Patterson, Sr., USC                                           DL Jimmy Verdon, Sr., Arizona State
DL Shaun Cody, Sr., USC                                               DL Manase Hopoi, Sr., Washington
DL Ryan Riddle, Sr., California                                        DL Lorenzo Alexander, Sr., California
LB Matt Grootegoed, Sr., USC                                       LB Will Derting, Jr., Washington State
LB Lofa Tatupu, Jr., USC                                                LB Spencer Havner, Jr., UCLA
LB Wendell Hunter, Sr., California                                   LB Jon Alston, Jr., Stanford
                                                                                       LB Trent Bray, Jr., Oregon State
DB Mitch Meeuwsen, Sr., Oregon State                          DB Darrell Brooks, Jr., Arizona
DB Matt Clark, Sr., UCLA                                             DB Aric Williams, Sr., Oregon State
DB Matt Giordano, Sr., California                                   DB Darnell Bing, So., USC
DB Riccardo Stewart, Sr., Arizona State                         DB Brandon Browner, So., Oregon State

First Team Specialists                                          Second Team Specialists
PK Justin Medlock, So., UCLA                                 PK Alexis Serna, Fr., Oregon State
P Tom Malone, Jr., USC                                            P Chris Kluwe, Sr., UCLA
KOR T.J. Rushing, Jr., Stanford                                 KOR Reggie Bush, So., USC
PR Reggie Bush, So., USC                                        PR Maurice Drew, So., UCLA
                                                                                  PR Michael Bumpus, Fr., Washington State
ST Michael Okwo, So., Stanford                               ST Desmond Reed, Fr., USC
                                                                                 ST Byron Storer, So., California
ST=special teams player (not a kicker or returner)

Co-Offensive Players of the Year: Matt Lienart, QB, Jr., USC
Reggie Bush, TB, So., USC
Pat Tillman Co-Defensive Players of the Year: Bill Swancutt, DE, Sr., Oregon State
Shaun Cody, DT, Sr., USC
Freshman of the Year: Zach Miller, TE, Arizona State
Coach of the Year: Jeff Tedford, California

Honorable Mention
ARIZONA: RB Mike Bell, Jr.; CB Antoine Cason, Fr.; TE Steve Fleming, Sr.; C Keoki Fraser, Sr.; KR Syndric Steptoe, So.

PK Jesse Ainsworth, So.; MLB Justin Burks, Sr.; C Drew Hodgdon, Grad.; WR Terry Richardson, So.; OLB Dale Robinson, Jr.; OLB Jamar Williams, Jr.

OT Andrew Cameron, So.; OG Jonathan Giesel, Sr.; FS Ryan Gutierrez, Sr.; MLB Joe Maningo, Sr.; ST Mike McGrath, Sr.; NT Brandon Mebane, So.; OG Aaron Merz, Jr.; CB Harrison Smith, Jr.

QB Kellen Clemens, Jr.; CB Aaron Gipson, Jr.; DE Devan Long, Jr.; MLB Jerry Matson, Sr.; PR Justin Phinisee, Jr.; OG Nick Steitz, Sr.; TB Terrence Whitehead, Jr.

OREGON STATE: C Matt Brock, Sr.; OLB Keith Ellison, Jr.; TE Joe Newton, So.; P Sam Paulescu, Jr.; SS Sabby Piscitelli, So.; OLB Jonathan Pollard, Sr.; TB Dwight Wright, Sr.

STANFORD: FS Oshimogho Atogwe, Sr.; DT Julian Jenkins, Jr.; FL Evan Moore, So.; NT Babatunde Oshinowo, Jr.; ILB Kevin Schimmelman, Jr.; CB Stanley Wilson, Sr.

UCLA: FL Craig Bragg, Sr.; OT Paul Molicer, Sr.; SS Jarrad Page, Jr.; FB Michael Pitre, Fr.; TB Manuel White, Sr.

USC: TE Dominique Byrd, Jr.; TE Alex Holmes, Sr.; SE Dwayne Jarrett, Fr.; FS Jason Leach, Sr.; OLB Dallas Sartz, Jr.; DT Manuel Wright, So.; CB Justin Wyatt, Jr.

WASHINGTON: CB Derrick Johnson, Sr.; ILB Joe Lobendahn, Jr.

WASHINGTON STATE: P Kyle Basler, Jr.; OLB Scott Davis., So.; RB Jerome Harrison, Jr.; C Nick Mihlhauser, Jr.; CB Karl Paymah, Sr.

#OurHouse Mini-Plans
#OurHouse Rocks Slider
Football vs BYU Tickets