Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Hollands and Mlakar Earn Pac-10 Honors
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: May 06, 2005
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. ?- Arizona seniors Dianne Hollands and Maja Mlakar received postseason honors when the Pac-10 announced its all-conference teams Friday.

Hollands was named to the All-Pac-10 Second Team, while Mlakar garnered an honorable mention.

Both Hollands and Mlakar will compete in the NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championships May 23-28 in Athens, Ga. 


No. 15 Hollands and Mlakar, have battled to a 27-9 record this year.  The pair of Wildcat seniors played in the No. 1 position in all 19 of the team’s dual matches, earning a 17-2 record.  In their final campaign together, Hollands and Mlakar had winning streaks of nine and 10 matches, respectively, as they defeated four opponents ranked 25th or higher.  Their senior year began with high expectations, as the pair was dubbed top-ranked duo nationally, after finishing 2004 at No. 4.  Last week at the Pac-10 Championships, Hollands and Mlakar reached the championship match, where they lost to Stanford’s Alice Barnes and Erin Burdette, 8-1.


Hollands enters the singles tournament needing one win to reach the 100-victory plateau in her career.  Hollands garners a 25-6 record for her senior year, thus far, after going 74-39 in her first three years.  After entering the fall as the No. 7-ranked player, the New Zealand native has slipped to No. 31, but has been solid of late.  In dual match play, Hollands was an undefeated 9-0 at the No. 2 position.

Complete all-conference teams and honors are listed below.

Women's First Team
Suzi Babos, CAL
Alice Barnes, STAN
Daniela Bercek, UCLA
Nicole Leimbach, USC
Amber Liu, STAN
Lindsey Nelson, USC

Women's Second Team
Erin Burdette, STAN
Dianne Hollands, ARIZ
Theresa Logar, STAN
Daria Panova, ORE
Dea Sumantri, WASH
Riza Zalameda, UCLA

Honorable Mention
Anca Anastasiu, USC
Ekaterina Burduli, WSU
Sabrina Capannolo, ASU
Dinka Hadzic, WASH
Stephanie Kusano, CAL
Maja Mlakar, ARIZ

Women's Player of the Year
Nicole Leimbach, USC

Women's Doubles Team of the Year
Daniela Bercek/Riza Zalameda, UCLA

Women's Freshman of the Year
Suzi Babos, CAL

Women's Coach of the Year
Lele Forood, STAN


Bear Down Challenge W Tennis