Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Three Men?s Golfers Earn All-Pac-10 Honors
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: May 05, 2006
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

                Liaw a second-team selection


TUCSON, Ariz. ?- Three University of Arizona men’s golfers were honored with all-Pacific-10 Conference accolades, in voting released Friday by the league’s head coaches.


Henry Liaw received second-team all-conference honors, while Josh Esler and Ben Fox were honorable mention selections.  It marks only the third time in the last 28 years that Arizona has not had at least one first team all-conference selection.  Since joining the Pac-10 in 1978-79, Arizona golfers have earned a total of 89 all-league accolades with 44 of those being first-team selections.


Liaw, a junior from Rowland Heights, Calif., earned all-Pac-10 honors for the third straight season after posting a team-leading 71.86 stroke average through 37 rounds played in 2005-06.  In 12 stroke play events this year, Liaw has four top-10 finishes and two top-20 efforts.  To date, 20 of his 37 rounds played have been at par or better.  He posted an even-par 284 to finish in a tie for eighth place at the 2006 Pac-10 Championships on April 26.


Esler, a junior from Wauconda, Ill., earned honorable mention all-conference honors for the second time in his career (2004) after carding 73.24 stroke average through 31 rounds played in 2005-06.  He has four top-20 finishes to his credit this year and has been UA’s top finisher twice.  To date, 12 of his 31 rounds played have been at par or better.  He posted an eight-over 292 to finish in a tie for 23rd place at the 2006 Pac-10 Championships on April 26.


Fox, a freshman from Studio City, Calif., earned honorable mention honors after posting a 72.44 stroke average through 27 rounds played.  He has one top-10 and three-top-20 finishes to his credit in nine starts this year and ranks second on the club with 12 rounds at par or better.  He finished in 12th place at the 2006 Pac-10 Championship, April 26, with a two-over 286 total.


The Wildcats will next be in action, May 18-20, at the NCAA Regional.  The West Regional will be contested at the Omni Tucson National Golf Course in Tucson, Ariz.


2006 Pacific-10 Conference Postseason Honors



First Team

Name                                     School                    Yr.           Hometown

Alejandro Canizares                 Arizona State           Sr.           Manilva, Spain

Erik Flores                              UCLA                      Fr.           Grass Valley, Calif.

Rob Grube                              Stanford                  So.          Hinsdale, Ill.

Daniel Im                                UCLA                      So.          Fullerton, Calif.

Niklas Lemke                          Arizona State           Jr.            Linkoping, Sweden

Alex Prugh                              Washington             Jr.            Spokane, Wash.

Second Team

Name                                     School                    Yr.           Hometown

Benjamin Alvarado                   Arizona State           Fr.           Santiago, Chile

Chris Heintz                            UCLA                      Jr.            Brea, Calif.

James Lepp                            Washington             Sr.           Abbotsford, B.C., Canada

Henry Liaw                            Arizona                  Jr.           Rowland Heights, Calif.

Zack Miller                              Stanford                  Jr.            San Rafael, Calif.

Taylor Wood                            USC                        Sr.           Laguna Niguel, Calif.

Honorable Mention: Kevin Chappell, So., UCLA; Josh Esler, Jr., ARIZ; Ben Fox, Fr., ARIZ; Dodge Kemmer, Fr., STAN; Lucas Lee, Fr., UCLA; Tyler Ley, Sr., USC; Jordan Nasser, Jr., USC; Erik Olson, Jr., WASH; Ryan Witz, Sr., WSU; Joshua Wooding, Jr., USC.

PAC-10 CO-GOLFERS OF THE YEAR: Alejandro Canizares, Sr., Arizona State; Rob Grube, So., Stanford

Bear Down Challenge M Golf