Official Secondary Ticket Marketplace
Adams and Radenovic Named Most Valuable Players
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: March 14, 2006
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

A total of 18 team awards were handed out


TUCSON, Ariz. ?- Hassan Adams and Ivan Radenovic were named the Arizona men’s basketball co-most valuable players as part of the awards presented Monday night at the team’s annual awards banquet held at the Loews Ventana Canyon resort.


Adams, a 6-foot-4, 220-pound senior guard from Los Angeles, Calif., shared Most Valuable Player honors after averaging a team-leading 17.3 points, to go with 5.1 rebounds and 2.9 assists per game.  He is shooting 45.7 percent (215-of-457) from the field and leads the Pac-10 Conference with a 2.7 steals per game average.  Adams has finished in double figures 24 times in 2005-06, including 12 games with 20 or more points.  He also earned the Most Steals award as well.


Radenovic, a 6-foot-10, 244-pound junior forward from Belgrade, Serbia-Montenegro, shared the honors while averaging 11.9 points, 6.4 rebounds and 1.7 assists per game this season.  He’s connected on 45.3 percent (124-of-274) of his field goal attempts and 77.6 percent (97-of-125) of his free throws.  Through 31 games, Radenovic has four double-doubles to his credit and has scored in double figures 18 times.  He also earned the Captains Award and most rebounds.


Mustafa Shakur earned the co-Captains award with Radenovic and claimed the Most Assists honor.  Other players honored included Bret Brielmaier, Most Inspirational; Chris Rodgers, Best Defensive Player; Mohamed Tangara, Mr. Hustle; Daniel Dillon, Mr. Hustle and Academic Award; Marcus Williams, Outstanding Freshman; Fendi Onobun, Most Improved; Kirk Walters, Most Improved; David Bagga, Coaches Award; Isaiah Fox (Senior Award); and J.P. Prince, Future Wildcat Award.


The awards presented at the banquet were as follows:


Most Valuable Player:             Hassan Adams, Ivan Radenovic

Captains Award:                      Mustafa Shakur, Ivan Radenovic

Best Defensive Player:             Chris Rodgers

Most Improved:                        Kirk Walters, Fendi Onobun

Coaches Award:                      David Bagga

Mr. Hustle Award:                    Mohamed Tangara, Daniel Dillon

Most Inspirational:                   Bret Brielmaier

Academic Award:                    Daniel Dillon

Outstanding Freshman:           Marcus Williams

Most Rebounds:                       Ivan Radenovic

Most Steals:                             Hassan Adams

Most Assists:                             Mustafa Shakur

Future Wildcat:                        J.P. Prince


The Wildcats (19-12 overall, 11-7 Pac-10) are next in action on Friday, March 17, vs. Wisconsin in the first round of the NCAA Minneapolis Region in Philadelphia, Pa.  Arizona is making its 22nd consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance, which is the longest active streak in the nation.

#OurHouse Rocks Slider
McDonals Red Blue Game Tickets Slider
Uploaded Ad
Football vs BYU Tickets