14 Bowl Game Ticket Information
MEMBER SIGN IN
Don't have an account? Click Here
Pac-12 Networks Switch Now Ad
2005 Softball Schedule Released
Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Release: 10/13/2004
Send Mail Print RSS
Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

TUCSON, Ariz.--The defending Pac-10 Champion Arizona Wildcats are scheduled to play in seven different tournaments to open the 2005 softball season, including the Cats' own trio of early-season round-robin events -- the Pepsi Arizona Classic, the Worth Wildcat Invitational and the Hillenbrand Invitational.

 

UA also will venture to the ASU-hosted Kajikawa Tournament (formerly the Fiesta Bowl Tournament), Baylor's Compass Bank Invitational, the UNLV Tournament in Las Vegas and take its usual trip to the Kia Klassic hosted by Cal State Fullerton.

 

UA is set to open conference play at home against Stanford on April 1, and closes the regular season with Pac-10 action on the road in the Bay Area May 12-14.

 

The Cats open the season Feb. 4 with Pepsi Classic play against Tulsa at Rita Hillenbrand Memorial Stadium.

 

This year's NCAA Championships play includes the addition of Super Regionals. Sixteen four-team regionals will be held for the preliminary rounds with eight winning teams among those selected to host two-team, best-of-three, Super Regionals the following week. The format pushed the Women's College World Series back from pre-Memorial Day weekend to the first week in June.

 

Arizona missed the World Series for the first time since 1989 with its losses to Oklahoma and Louisiana-Lafayette in NCAA Region 1 play in Tucson last year. The Cats meet the Cajuns in a three-game series at Lafayette, La., the last week in March.

 

 

Tentative 2005 Arizona Softball Schedule

Date

Opponent

Location

Time

Friday, Feb. 4

Tulsa

Tucson

4 p.m.

  (Pepsi Classic)

Kansas

Tucson

6 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 5

Northwestern

Tucson

4 p.m.

  (Pepsi Classic)

Oklahoma State

Tucson

6 p.m.

Sunday, Feb. 6

New Mexico State

Tucson

1 p.m.

Friday-Sunday

 Feb. 11-13

Kajikawa Tournament

Phoenix

TBA

Friday, Feb. 18

Marshall

Tucson

2 p.m.

  (Worth Wildcat Invitational)

Hawaii

Tucson

4 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 19

Hawaii

Tucson

2 p.m.

  (Worth Wildcat Invitational)

Marshall

Tucson

4 p.m.

Sunday, Feb. 20

Marshall

Tucson

2 p.m.

  (Worth Wildcat Invitational)

Hawaii

Tucson

4 p.m.

Friday-Sunday, Feb. 25-27

Compass Bank Invitational

Waco, Texas

TBA

Thursday, March 3

Eastern Michigan

Tucson

TBA

Friday, March 4

Eastern Michigan

Tucson

2 p.m.

  (Hillenbrand Invitational)

Creighton

Tucson

4 p.m.

Saturday, March 5

Creighton

Tucson

2 p.m.

  (Hillenbrand Invitational)

Eastern Michigan

Tucson

4 p.m.

Sunday, March 6

Eastern Michigan

Tucson

11 a.m.

  (Hillenbrand Invitational)

Creighton

Tucson

1 p.m.

Friday-Sunday, March 11-13

UNLV Tournament

Las Vegas, Nev.

TBA

Friday, March 25

Louisiana-Lafayette

Lafayette, La.

TBA

Saturday, March 26

Louisiana-Lafayette

Lafayette, La.

TBA

Sunday, March 27

Louisiana-Lafayette

Lafayette, La.

TBA

Friday, April 1

*Stanford

Tucson

7 p.m.

Saturday, April 2

*California

Tucson

7 p.m.

Sunday, April 3

*California

Tucson

1 p.m.

Wedneday, April 5

*Arizona State

Tempe, Ariz.

7 p.m.

Friday, April 8

*Oregon State

Tucson

7 p.m.

Saturday, April 9

*Oregon

Tucson

7 p.m.

Sunday, April 10

*Oregon

Tucson

1 p.m.

Friday, April 15

*Washington

Seattle

1 p.m.

Saturday, April 16

*UCLA

Los Angeles

2 p.m.

Saturday, April 17

*UCLA

Los Angeles

1 p.m.

Friday, April 22

*Arizona State

Tucson

7 p.m.

Saturday, April 23

Arizona Softball
PLACEHOLDER
Cancer Awareness Campaign
Where is the world is Brian Jeffries?
Weekly Fan Poll
Dex
Live Stats