Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday

Michele Mitchell
Michele Mitchell

Director of Operations

Dr. Michele Mitchell Head Diving Coach 13th Year Arizona, 1983 The most decorated diver in Arizona history, Michele Mitchell is set to begin her 13th season with the Wildcat diving program. Mitchell won silver medals on the 10-meter platform at the 1984 Olympic Games in Los Angeles and the 1988 games in Seoul, Korea. She was inducted into the UA Athletic Hall of Fame in 1988 and the International Swimming Hall of Fame in 1995. A four-time All-American during her collegiate career in 1979-89, Mitchell's accomplishments also include 1986 Sullivan Award Nominee, nine-time U.S. national champion, 1985 World FINA Cup champion, 1987 Pan American Games champion, four-time U.S. Olympic Committee Athlete of the Year honoree, and American record holder for platform diving, 479.40 points for an eight-dive list. During Mitchell's tenure as the Arizona diving coach, her divers have accumulated 25 All-America honors and 11 Pac-10 titles. Mitchell's UA divers have earned multiple CoSIDA Academic All-America honors. Lindsay Berryman was a second-team Academic All-American in both 1999 and 2001, Claire Febvay earned third-team Academic All-American laurels in 2003, and most recently, current Wildcat diver Daniela Bemme earned a first-team All-American honor for platform diving at the 2004 NCAA Championships, and was an All-Academic Honorable Mention. Since taking over the Wildcats diving program, Mitchell has put UA diving on the map. Prior to her arrival, Arizona had recorded a total of just 10 NCAA top-16 finishes among the men and women combined since 1978. In Mitchell's 11 years at Arizona, the Cats have put up 15 top-16 finishes on the men's side and 11 on the women's. Omar Ojeda was runner-up in the 3-meter at the 2001 NCAA Championships, the best NCAA finish for a UA men's dive and he was third on the platform. In 1997, her first year at the helm of the program, Mitchell was named the Pac-10 Men's Diving Coach of the Year after guiding Jimmy Sjodin, who was also chosen the Pac-10 Men's Diver of the Year, to conference titles in the both the platform and 3-meter. Due to the success of both Ojeda and Ruben Vaca, Mitchell was also chosen to Pac-10 Men's Diving Coach of the Year in 2000, 2001 and 2002. The UA women have excelled under Mitchell, as well. In 1999, Lindsay Berryman was named the Pac-10 Women's Diver of the Year, and a year later, Berryman won the conference title on the platform, becoming the first UA women's diver to garner a Pac-10 championship. In addition to the Wildcats' successful 2005-06 season, Tiffany Manning helped the women's team to a first place finished at the 2006 Pac-10 championships by taking the 10-meter crown. Mitchell has also shared her knowledge of the sport through television. Her television resume includes the 1992 Olympic Trials and Games, the 1994 and 1995 NCAA Women's Championships, and the 1993 World University Games. During the summer of 1996, she anchored the in-stadium radio broadcasts for diving at the Olympic Games in Atlanta and was the bungee jump analyst for the ESPN X-Games. An avid promotional and motivational speaker, Mitchell's past clients includes McDonald's, Nabisco, United States Diving, the U.S. Olympic Committee, as well as many civic and charitable organizations. She also holds positions on several committees and foundation, including the United States Diving Foundation, the USOC Athlete Support Committee and the Women's Sports Foundation Grant Review Committee. She is also on the UA Hall of Fame Committee and on the UA Equity and Student-Athlete Welfare Committee. Mitchell earned her undergraduate degree in English, with a minor in athletic coaching and secondary education, from the University of Arizona in 1983. She received her master's degree in sports administration from Arizona in December of 2000 and earned her Ph. D. in education psychology in May 0f 2007. She has a daughter, Ariana (12), and a son, Dakota (10).

Michele Mitchell-Rocha's Coaching Honors 2002 Pac-10 Men's Diving Coach of the Year 2001 Pac-10 Men's Diving Coach of the Year 2000 Pac-10 Men's Diving Coach of the Year 1997 Pac-10 Men's Diving Coach of the Year