Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Track Cats Seek Pac-12 Title
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: May 09, 2013
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

May 9, 2013

Pac-12 Championships RecordsGet Acrobat Reader

Meet NotesGet Acrobat Reader

Pac-12 Championships Central

Live Results Link

Los Angeles, Calif. - The University of Arizona Wildcat men's and No. 5 women's track and field teams begin championship season with the 2013 Pac-12 Championships. The meet is being held at USC's Cromwell Field and Katherine B. Loker Stadium. On Saturday, the field events are scheduled to start at 10 a.m. PDT and the running events begin at 1 p.m. Sunday's field events will commence at 9 a.m. and the running events start at 1 p.m. At the 2012 Pac-12 Championships, both the men and the women earned third-place finishes. Oregon's men won their sixth-straight conference title while the women won their fourth-straight. Also on the line at this year's Pac-12 Championships is a Territorial Cup points. Whoever finishes higher in the team rankings between the Arizona and Arizona State men and women will receive a point. Only three points remain in the race that is currently tied, men's track and field, women's track and field and baseball.

Arizona will compete against Arizona State, California, Colorado, Oregon, Oregon State (women's team only), Stanford, UCLA, USC, Utah (women's team only), Washington and Washington State.

In the USTFCCCA week six national poll, Arizona's men remain unranked and the women stayed at the No. 5 spot. The Pac-12 has three men's teams in the national poll. Oregon stayed at the fourth spot, USC dropped one spot to eighth and UCLA slid two spots to 15th. For the women, six other Pac-12 schools in the national poll accompany Arizona. Oregon remains No. 7. Arizona State stayed at No. 9. UCLA fell one spot to No. 13. Stanford is still No. 14. USC slid two spots to No. 21. Washington is now No. 24 after dropping two spots.

For Saturday's field events on the women's side, senior Taylor Freeman and sophomore Baillie Gibson will begin the day for Arizona in the hammer throw at 10 a.m. Freshmen Moriah Hayes and Ali Rodseth will long jump at 11 a.m. In the women's high jump at 1 p.m., Arizona will have senior Brigetta Barrett, junior Amber Passalaqua and sophomore Shakayla McEaddy. Senior Asia Easley is set to throw the javelin at 1:30 p.m. The shot put at 4:15 p.m. will consist of Freeman, Gibson, senior Julie Labonté, senior Alyssa Hasslen and junior Omotayo Talabi.

The women's first track event on Saturday will be the preliminary round of the women's 4x100-meter relay. At 1 p.m., Arizona will run the race with freshman Traci-Lynn Hicks, junior Shapri Romero, junior Tamara Pridgett and junior Germe Poston. Freshman Nicci Corbin is set to run in the preliminary round of 1,500-meter race at 1:25 p.m. Hicks will return to the track for the preliminaries of the 100-meter hurdles at 1:55 p.m. The preliminary round of the 400 meters at 2:30 p.m. will include Barrett, Romero, Pridgett and senior Shale' Garland. Poston's return to the track for the 100-meter sprint preliminary round will take place at 3 p.m. Sophomore Clea Formaz and junior Erin Menefee will compete in the 3,000-meter steeplechase at 4 p.m. Senior Georganne Moline's 400-meter hurdle preliminary race is set for 4:55 p.m. Poston will also run the preliminary round of the 200-meter dash at 5:20 p.m. Senior Jen Bergmanand sophomore Stephanie Bulder are entered in the 10K at 5:50 p.m. On Sunday, Bergman, Bulder, and Corbin will compete in the final of the 5K at 4:10 p.m. The 4x400-meter relay team of Romero, Garland, Pridgett and Moline will run at 5:05 p.m. In Sunday's field events, Gibson, Hasslen, Freeman and Labonté will throw the discus at 12:15 p.m.

For the men on Saturday, sophomore Thomas Moronta, freshman Bernard Dickerson-Quinn, sophomore Mohammad Alhasan and junior Sean Delfani will run the 4x100-meter relay for the Wildcats at 1:10 p.m. Junior Lawi Lalang and sophomore Sam Macaluso are set to run the preliminary 1,500-meter race at 1:40 p.m. In the preliminary round of the 400 meters, UA will have Delfani and Dickerson-Quinn run at 2:45 p.m. Seniors James Eichberger and Kevin Jani will run the preliminary 800-meter race at 3:45 p.m. In the final of the steeplechase at 4:25 p.m., Arizona will have sophomore Kenji Bierig, freshman Jonas Legernes and freshman Thomas Valente. Senior Clifton Leake and junior Neil Houlihanwill run in the preliminary round of the 400-meter hurdles at 5:05 p.m. Lalang will return to the track at 6:40 p.m. to run his first ever 10,000-meter race.

On Sunday, senior Tyler Johnson will throw the hammer at 9 a.m. Senior Edgar Rivera-Morales and freshman Jonny Giess will compete in the high jump at 1 p.m. Bierig, Lalang and Macaluso are also entered in the 5,000-meter race at 4:40 p.m. Delfani, Leake, Eichberger and Dickerson-Quinn will compete in the 4x400-meter relay at 5:20 p.m.