Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
NCAA West Preliminary Fields Announced
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: May 16, 2013
Related Links

May 16, 2013

NCAA Meet Central

NCAA West Regional Meet Information

Men's Entries - West

Women's Entries - West

TUCSON - The NCAA announced the declared athletes that will compete in the 2013 NCAA Championships West Preliminary Round in Austin, Texas. The meet will take place from May 23-25 at Mike A. Myers Stadium. The women have 17 athletes and 24 individual entries along with two relays in the meet. The men have seven athletes and eight individual entries with two relays in the competition.

Qualification to the preliminary championships competition of the championships is based on the descending-order list for the season, segregated by east and west sites. For each individual event (20 for each gender) contested at each of the preliminary championships competition sites, the top 48 declared student-athletes will be accepted into the competition. For each relay event contested at each of the preliminary championships competition sites, the top 24 declared relay teams will be accepted into the competition. The stated maximums are absolute and will not be extended as a result of ties.

For the women on the track, junior Germe Poston is entered in the 100 meters and 200 meters. Junior Shapri Romero is entered in the 400 meters. Freshman Kate Penney will compete in the 1,500-meter race. Sophomore Clea Formaz is set to run in the 3,000-meter steeplechase. Senior Jen Bergman will look to double in the 5K and 10K. Freshman Nicci Corbin will run 1,500-meter race. Sophomore Stephanie Bulder will also run the 10K. Freshman Traci-Lynn Hicks is set to compete in the 100-meter hurdles. Senior Georganne Moline is entered in the 400-meter hurdles. The UA women also have a 4x100-meter relay team and 4x400-meter relay team entered.

For the women's field events, senior Brigetta Barrett and sophomore Shakayla McEaddy will compete in the high jump. In the shot put, UA will have junior Julie Labonté, senior Alyssa Hasslen, sophomore Baillie Gibson and junior Omotayo Talabi. Labonté, Gibson, Hasslen and senior Taylor Freeman are entered in the discus competition. Gibson and Freeman will also throw the hammer at the preliminary round. Senior Asia Easley is entered in the javelin competition.

On the men's side, freshman Bernard Dickerson-Quinn is entered in the 400-meter run. Sophomore Kenji Bierig is set to run the 3,00-meter steeplechase. Junior Lawi Lalang is entered in the 5K and 10K. Sophomore Sam Macaluso is also entered in the 5K. Senior Clifton Leake is entered in the 400-meter hurdles. The men also have both relays entered in the competition. Senior Edgar Rivera-Morales will compete in the high jump. Senior Tyler Johnson is set to throw the hammer.

Qualifying to the final championships competition is accomplished through performance in the preliminary championships competition at each site for events contested at those competitions. Twelve competitors from each individual event and 12 teams from each relay event advance from each preliminary championships competition site to the final championships competition. Qualification, through competition in an event at a preliminary championships competition, is required to participate in that event at the final championships competition.