Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
2008 NCAA Championship Women's Swim And Diving Team HOF
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: December 16, 2013
Related Links

2008 NCAA Championship Women's Swim And Diving Team

2008 W Swim HOF
     The University of Arizona Women's swimming and diving program claimed its first NCAA championship in school history and by a margin of 136 points over runner-up Auburn at the NCAA Championships in Columbus, Ohio, in March 2008.                                                                            After a runner-up finish in 2007, the Wildcats came through in 2008 with a two-day effort that essentially had Arizona clinching victory before the final day of competition.                                                                                                "We knew after the second day that we had it. But the girls, recalling what happened last year, just went out and (throttled) everyone else to get it done," Head Coach Frank Busch said.                                                                    The Wilcats won all five relay events in the three-day meet and took two individual honors with Lara Jackson in the 50 freestyle and Lacey Nymeyer in the 100 freestyle. Plenty of other Wildcats chipped in with key swims in both championship and consolation finals to fuel UA's efforts to bring home the national Championship.