Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
1997 National Championship Men's Basketball Team
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: December 16, 2013
Related Links

1997 National Championship Men's Basketball Team

1997 basketball HOF
     Won the program's first national title by defeating national champion Kentucky in overtime, 84-79, at Indianapolis. The team put together one of the most impressive runs in NCAA tournament history, becoming the first team to defeat three No. 1 seeds in the same tournament (Kansas, North Carolina and Kentucky). Lute Olson's club did not have a senior among its top eight players and finished with a 25-9 record. Miles Simon was named the MVP of the Final Four and was the tournament's leading Scorer. He was joined on the All-Final Four team by teammate Mike Bibby. Breaking the team record for steals in a season, UA came back from late second-half double-digit deficits in its first and second round NCAA games and beat Providence in overtime in the Southeast Region final to advance to the program's third Final Four. Michael Dickerson had the sixth-best single season point total at the UA (642) and Jason Terry set a school record for steals in a season (85). 
Football Season Tickets Ad
Step Up Program Ad