Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
1980 Women's Synchronized Swimming Team HOF
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: December 17, 2013
Related Links

1980 Women's Synchronized Swimming Team

1980 swim team HOF
     University of Arizona's first-ever women's national championship team, tying Ohio State for the synchronized swimming title with 62 points. The team finished first in two of the meet's five events and had five swimmers earn All-American honors. Earlier in the season the Wildcats had also tied Ohio State at the Arizona Invitational, en route to posting a 5-0-1 regular season record. Under the direction of coach Kathie Hawkins, the Arizona team had climbed from third place in 1978 to a share of the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW) national title in 1980. In addition, the Wildcats won the AIAW Region 8 championship by outscoring Stanford, 139-45.