Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
1993 200 Medley Relay Team HOF
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: February 18, 2014
Related Links

1993 200 Medley Relay Team

1993 200 Medley Relay Team HOF
     Todd Newman, Robert Abernethy, Seth Pepper and Mike McQuitty gave the University of Arizona its first NCAA relay championship in March of 1993. Although the team qualified for the first place in the morning preliminaries, no one expected them to return and beat the bigger and stronger teams that would compete that night.Butterflyer Todd Newman was inserted into the backstroke leg of the event because of his powerful underwater butterfly kick. He finished his leg of hte relay in 22.7 seconds. Robert "Abbo" Abernethy held his own against a very strong field and watched Seth Pepper enter the water for the butterfly leg. With a remarkable turn and the fastest 50-yard butterfly relay split in history, Pepper moved the Wildcats into first place. Arizona sprinter Mike McQuitty refused to give up and by 2/100 of second, the Arizona200 medley relay team had proven itself to be the best in the country. 
Football Season Tickets Ad
Step Up Program Ad