Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
1983 AIAW Synchronized Swimming team champions HOF
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: February 19, 2014
Related Links

1983 AIAW Synchronized Swimming Team Champions

1983 AIAW Synchronized Swimming team champions
     Synchronized swimming requires both grace and endurance. Flawless performances often look like they are easily executed, but people never see the months and years of preparation needed to achieve perfection. This group of inductees spent years honing their craft and they are the reason The University of Arizona was such a dominant force in the 1980's in the sport of synchronized swimming. Although Arizona lost nine swimmers from their synchronized swim team from the year before, the squad's A Team was still very strong and competitive. Members included Eileen Daily, Lori Donn, Tammie Kay, Kathy Kish, Julie Olson, Becky Roy, and twins Alice and Margarita Smith. The girls competed as one team of eight to win the 1983 Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW) Synchronized Swimming Team Routine competition.