Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Lawi Lalang
Courtesy: Stephen Brashear
Lawi Lalang Named Finalist for The Bowerman
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: July 09, 2014

Tucson, Ariz. The University of Arizona Wildcat track and field program has a finalist for The Bowerman for the third-straight year. For senior Lawi Lalang, it is his second-straight year being one of three finalists for the award given to collegiate track and field’s top male and female athletes. Lalang is only the second male to ever be named a finalist more than once. Deon Lendore (Texas A&M, 400-meter sprinter) and Edward Cheserek (Oregon, 5K & 10K) are the other two finalists.


Based on their exceptional achievements during the indoor and outdoor collegiate track & field seasons in 2013-14, the trio made the cut as the three men who will travel to Phoenix, Ariz., for the awarding of The Bowerman Trophy on December 17 as part of the USTFCCCA Convention at the JW Marriott Desert Ridge.



Lalang, the eight-time NCAA Champion, claimed one NCAA title during the 2014 season, coming in the 5K at the NCAA Outdoor Championships. He won the race in a meet-record time of 13:18.36. Lalang broke the NCAA meet record set by Sydney Maree (Villanova) on June 2, 1979, when he ran 13:20.63. He was the Pac-12 Champion in the 1,500-meter race as well as the 5K. He also set the indoor collegiate record in the mile, 3:52.88.


He was named the 2014 Pac-12 Men’s Track Athlete of the Year as well as the 2014 Pac-12 Men’s Scholar Athlete of the Year. He was named the 2014 West Region Men’s Track Athlete of the Year during the indoor season. He earned first-team All-America honors in the indoor mile and 5K as well as the outdoor 1,500 meters and 5K. He earned runner-up finishes in both indoor races at the NCAA Championships as well as the outdoor 1,500 meters.


Lalang finished the collegiate year with the fastest times in the country in the 1,500 meters, 5,000 meters, mile (indoor), and 3,000 meters (indoor). He had the fourth-fastest time in the indoor 5K. His collegiate-record time of 3:52.88 in the indoor mile ranked as the No. 2 time in the world.


Voting to determine both the men's trophy and women's trophy – the finalists for which will be announced Thursday at 2 p.m. ET/11 p.m. PT in a web-streamed selection show – will commence July 28 and conclude August 12.


Fans will have an opportunity during that time to make their voices heard in a fan vote that will ultimately count as one ballot alongside those cast by media members, statisticians, USTFCCCA member coaches and other experts from around the nation.


The Bowerman Voters will receive ballots listing each of the finalists and must rank them by first, second and third choice. First-place votes will receive three points, second place will notch two, and third will receive one point. The finalist with the highest point total will be declared the winner.


For continued coverage of Arizona Wildcat men’s and women’s track and field, visit and follow @ArizonaTrack on Twitter.