Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Lalang, Geer Named Pac-12 Tom Hansen Medal Winners
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: July 01, 2014
Related Links

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. – Arizona track & field/cross country standout Lawi Lalang and women’s swimming and diving star Margo Geer were announced as Arizona’s recipients of the 2013-14 Pac-12 Tom Hansen Conference Medal, the conference announced on Monday.

A Conference Medal is awarded annually to each member institution's outstanding senior male and female student-athlete based on the exhibition of the greatest combination of performance and achievement in scholarship, athletics and leadership.

On Tuesday, July 1 at 7 p.m., Pac-12 Networks will air Pride of the Pac, a one-hour special honoring all 24 Tom Hansen Conference Medal winners.

Lalang and Geer were both named Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year for their respective sports this season after exceptional careers in competition and in the classroom.

Not only was Lalang the Pac-12 Scholar Athlete of the Year, but he also earned first-team All-Pac-12 All-Academic accolades as well. Lalang was also named the Pac-12 Men's Track Athlete of the Year. He won conference titles in the men's 1,500-meter race and 5,000-meter race. He went on to win the 5K at the NCAA Championships and earn a runner-up finish in the 1,500 meters.

Geer, a 24-time All-American, earned three individual NCAA titles in her four-year career at Arizona. Geer won titles in the 50-yard freestyle and 100-yard freestyle in 2013, while successfully defending her 100 free title in 2014. The Milford Center, Ohio native also owns the school record in the 100-yard freestyle with a time of 46.86, which currently stands as the third fastest time in history. Not only does she hold the school record in the 100 free but she is also part of school records in the 400 free relay, 800 free relay and 400 medley relay. She finished the 2014 season with the top time nationally in the 50 free with a mark of 21.53. That mark also stands as the second fastest time in school history. She earned Pac-12 First-Team All-Academic honors in 2014, Pac-12 Second-Team All-Academic in 2013 and Pac-12 Honorable Mention All-Academic in 2012, while also being named a CSCAA Scholar All-American honoree. She recently won the Ruby Award, which is given to the top female of the senior class in the University of Arizona Athletics Department.

Conference Medal winners have been named every year since the 1960-61 academic year. In 2009, the Pac-12 renamed the award the Tom Hansen Conference Medal in honor of Hansen, who retired at the end of June 2009 after serving for 26 years as Commissioner of the Pac-10.

Margo Geer P12 WOTY