Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Arizona Begins Fall with Aggie Invitational
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: September 11, 2013
Related Links

LAS CRUCES, N.M. Arizona women’s tennis will head to New Mexico this weekend to kick off its fall campaign with the Aggie Invitational, which will start on Friday, Sept. 13 at 9 a.m. MDT and finish on Sunday, Sept. 15.

In her 12th season, Arizona head coach Vicky Maes will accompany four players in this weekend’s three-day flighted tournament. Senior Susan Mc Rann (Dublin, Ireland), junior Laura Oldham (Sheffield, England), sophomore Inge Hendrikx (Zundert, The Netherlands), and freshman newcomer Carly Cassity (Clayton, Mo.) will compete.

Along with the Wildcats, there will be nine other teams participating, which are host New Mexico State, UTEP, New Mexico, Northern Arizona, Tarleton State, Abilene Christian, Western New Mexico and Grand Canyon. More than 60 student-athletes are set to compete at the NM State Tennis Center.  

In spring of last season, Arizona defeated both Northern Arizona and Grand Canyon, 6-1. However, results in the fall season will only count towards the respective players’ singles and doubles records and rankings.

The Aggie Invitational will be the first of six fall tournaments that coach Maes and her squad will participate in. The six tournaments will take place in September through November. Among those tournaments, UA will host its own fall tournament at the Lanelle Robson Tennis Center starting on Oct. 11.

With the 2012-13 squad comprising of no seniors, the 2013-14 roster will see four players return as seniors: No. 40 singles-ranked Lacey Smyth (Oceanside, Calif.), No. 82 singles-ranked Kim Stubbe (Mol, Belgium), Akilah James (Brooklyn N.Y.), and Mc Rann. Oldham, Hendrikx and sophomore Shayne Austin (Oak Park, Calif.) also return for another season under coach Maes. In addition, UA welcomes two freshmen to its roster, who are Cassity and Lauren Marker (Rancho Mirage, Calif.).

In 2013, Smyth was named All-Pac-12 Honorable Mention. James was recognized for her outstanding sportsmanship by earning the 2013 Cissie Leary Award, and Smyth, Stubbe Mc Rann and Oldham were named to the Pac-12 All-Academic Team.

For immediate results and continued coverage of Arizona Women’s Tennis, visit, or visit the Arizona Women’s Tennis Facebook page, or follow @ArizonaWTennis on Twitter.

Bear Down Challenge W Tennis