Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Pac-12 Announces Postgraduate Scholarships
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: July 03, 2014
Related Links

TUCSON, Ariz. – University of Arizona student-athletes Jeff Amlee (swimming), Jon Denton-Schneider (swimming), Erin Menefee (track and field/cross country) and Lacey Smyth (women’s tennis) have been awarded Pac-12 Postgraduate Scholarships for the 2013-14 academic year, it was announced by league commissioner Larry Scott on Wednesday. Each honoree will receive a scholarship of $3,000 for their postgraduate studies.

Amlee earned a pair of All-America honors as a member of the 200 free relay and 200 medley relay teams this past season. The 200 free relay team earned a fourth place finish at the NCAA Championships and their time of 1:16.67 was their fastest of the season. In addition, he had the fifth fastest time on the squad in the 100 free with a time of 44.13 and the seventh fastest time on the team in the 50 free with a time of 19.96, both were NCAA “B” cut times and personal-best times. He was named Pac-12 Second-Team All-Academic. He finished his career as a four-time All-American.

Denton-Schneider Had a season-best time of 57.11 in the 100 breast from the Texas Invite and the time was the eighth fastest on the team in the event. The four-year letterwinner graduated Summa Cum Laude with a bachelor's degree in entrepreneurship and business economics and Spanish (Portuguese concentration). He is currently enrolled in the master's program in Latin American studies at the UA, focusing on the history and economic development of Brazil and Mexico. Denton-Schneider worked as a research and database assistant for the Eller Economic and Business Research Center. He is a peer athletic leader and received a CATS Life Skills Award. He is a member of the Beta Gamma Sigma and Delta Sigma Pi honor societies.

Menefee was a First-Team All-Pac-12 All-Academic honoree in 2012, 2013 and 2014 for both cross country and track and field. She earned a degree in nutritional sciences with a cumulative GPA of 3.97. She was a member of the 2013 Pac-12 Champion women's cross country team and the national runner-up at the 2013 NCAA Cross Country Championships. Her time of 10:41.02 in the women's 3,000-meter steeplechase is the sixth-best time in school history.

Smyth was named the Pac-12 Women’s Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year after leading the Wildcats to one of their highest rankings in history at No. 23, while posting a 16-6 singles record playing at the No. 1 spot all season for UA. The Oceanside, Calif., native earned the ITA Regional Senior of the Year award after competing in the NCAA Singles Championships for the third-straight year. A second team All-Pac-12 selection this season and a first team Pac-12 All-Academic honoree, Smyth holds the highest grade point average on the team with a 3.79 mark, majoring in elementary education.

To be selected for a Pac-12 Postgraduate Scholarship, have an overall undergraduate minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.00 (based on a 4.00 scale) or its equivalent; be in his/her final season of intercollegiate athletics eligibility in all sports OR be in his/her final year of undergraduate studies, having exhausted athletics eligibility in all sports. The student-athlete will be evaluated on the basis of all academic work completed at time of selection; Have performed with distinction as a member of a varsity team. The degree of the student-athlete’s athletic achievement will be weighed at least equally with the degree of academic performance; Intend to continue academic work beyond the baccalaureate degree as a full-time student in a graduate or professional program at an accredited institution, or in a postgraduate program for which an undergraduate degree is required for admission; Have behaved, both on and off the field, in a manner that has brought credit to the student-athlete, the institution and intercollegiate athletics.

In 1999, the Pac-12 Conference created a postgraduate scholarship program to honor outstanding student-athletes from its member institutions who also are outstanding scholars. Each Pac-12 institution selects four student-athlete recipients, two men and two women, through its institutional selection process.

Margo Geer P12 WOTY
Bear Down Challenge M S&D